

LE GOUVERNEMENT DU GRAND-DUCHÉ DE LUXEMBOURG Ministère des Affaires étrangères et européennes

Direction de l'immigration

Luxembourg, 30 June 2022

# Communication by the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs concerning temporary travel restrictions

The Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs wishes to inform that the temporary entry restrictions to the territory of the Grand Duchy of third-country nationals residing outside the European Union or the Schengen area **have been extended until 30 September 2022 inclusive.** 

These restrictions apply to all travel to Luxembourg, regardless of the means of transport. As a reminder, third country nationals are not allowed to enter the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, <u>except in one of the following cases</u>:

- if they are in possession of a residence permit or a residence permit for family members of a Union citizen, including persons falling under the provisions of the EU-UK Withdrawal Agreement, as well as any other person holding a right of residence or a national long term visa in accordance with the national law of a Member State of the European Union or of the countries associated with the Schengen area.
- or if they meet one of the following conditions:
  - if they are in possession of a **certificate proving a complete vaccination scheme** that is considered equivalent in Luxembourg<sup>1</sup>;
  - o or if they are in possession of a **recovery certificate** that is considered equivalent in Luxembourg<sup>2</sup>;
  - or if they are residents of third countries included on the list of third countries whose residents should not affected by a temporary restriction at the external borders<sup>3</sup> (and who are authorised to enter Luxembourg, including for non-essential travels);
  - or if their travel is considered essential <u>or</u> if they fall under one of the exceptions provided for family members of Luxembourg residents. The persons concerned must however have a specific certificate issued by the Luxembourg authorities.

At the same time, the Ministry informs that following the recent equivalence decisions of the European Commission, the <u>vaccination certificates</u> issued by the authorities of Bahrain, Ecuador, Indonesia, Kosovo, Madagascar, Seychelles, and Vietnam are from now on to be considered as equivalent. Thus,

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> See Annex B for the list of vaccination certificates accepted by the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> See Annex C for the list of recovery certificates accepted by the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> See **Annex A** for the list of third countries whose residents are authorized to enter the territory of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, including for non-essential travel

third-country nationals holding a certificate proving a complete vaccination schedule issued **by one of the** aforementioned countries will henceforth be authorised to enter the territory of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, including for non-essential travel, as long as the administered vaccine is accepted in the Grand Duchy.<sup>4</sup>

In addition, the <u>recovery certificates</u> issued by the authorities of Bahrain, Kosovo, Seychelles and Vietnam are now to be considered as equivalent. Thus, third country nationals holding a recovery certificate issued one of the aforementioned countries will henceforth be authorised to enter the territory of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, including for non-essential travel.

Details of the applicable rules and the derogations in place, as well as the exact terms of the procedures to be followed prior to travel can be consulted by following the link below:

https://covid19.public.lu/en/voyageurs/visiter-luxembourg.html

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> See **annex B** for the list of vaccination certificates accepted by the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg

# Annex A

# List of third countries whose residents are authorized to enter the territory of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, including for non-essential travel

- i. States
  - Bahrain
  - Chile
  - China (subject to confirmation of reciprocity at EU level)
  - Colombia
  - Indonesia
  - Kuwait
  - New Zealand
  - Peru
  - Qatar
  - Rwanda
  - Saudi Arabia
  - South Korea
  - Ukraine
  - United Arab Emirates
  - Uruguay
- ii. Special administrative regions of the People's Republic of China
  - Hong Kong SAR
  - Macao SAR
- iii. Entities and territorial authorities not recognised as States by at least one Member State of the European Union
  - Taiwan

Proof of residence is the responsibility of the third-country national.

#### Annex B

# Vaccination certificates accepted by the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg

In order to have a vaccination certificate recognised in Luxembourg, three cumulative conditions must be fulfilled:

- the vaccine administered must be accepted in the Grand Duchy (see list below);
- the vaccination pattern must be considered complete<sup>5</sup>;
- the certificate must be issued by a Member State of the European Union or the Schengen Area (EU27 + Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland), or by one of the following third countries:
  - i. States
  - Albania
  - Andorra
  - Armenia
  - Bahrain
  - Benin
  - Brazil
  - Cabo Verde
  - Canada
  - Colombia
  - Ecuador
  - El Salvador
  - Faroe Islands
  - Georgia
  - India
  - Indonesia
  - Israel
  - Japan
  - Jordan
  - Kosovo
  - Lebanon
  - Madagascar
  - Malaysia
  - Moldova
  - Monaco
  - Montenegro

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> A **complete vaccination pattern** means any pattern that defines the number and interval of injections necessary to achieve sufficient protective immunity and is complete upon administration of the required doses if multiple doses are given or, for single-dose vaccines, after a 14-day interval. For persons who have recovered and have been vaccinated within 180 days of the first positive NAAT test result, the vaccination pattern is complete 14 days after the administration of the single dose of any vaccine administered.

- Morocco
- New Zealand
- Panama
- Republic of North Macedonia
- San Marino
- Serbia
- Seychelles
- Singapore
- South Korea
- Thailand
- Togo
- Tunisia
- Turkey
- Ukraine
- United Arab Emirates
- United Kingdom
- United States of America
- Uruguay
- Vatican
- Vietnam
- ii. Entities and territorial authorities not recognised as States by at least one Member State of the European Union
- Taiwan

In this context, the 4 vaccines that have obtained marketing authorisation at European level, as well as 3 vaccines considered as bio-similars, are accepted in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg:

- BioNTech Pfizer / Comirnaty
- Moderna / Spikevax
- AstraZeneca / Vaxzevria
- Janssen / Vaccine Janssen
- Covishield (Serum Institute of India Pvt. Ltd (SII))
- R-Covi (R-Pharm)
- Covid-19 vaccine (recombinant) (FIOCRUZ)

The validity period of the vaccination certificate is set at 9 months from the date when the vaccination pattern is considered complete. The validity of the certificate for the booster vaccination is unlimited.

### Annex C

# Recovery certificates accepted by the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg

In order for a recovery certificate to be recognized in Luxembourg, it must be issued by a Member State of the European Union or the Schengen area (EU27 + Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland), or by one of the following third countries:

- Albania
- Andorra
- Armenia
- Bahrain
- Benin
- Cabo Verde
- El Salvador
- Georgia
- Israel
- Kosovo
- Moldova
- Monaco
- Montenegro
- Panama
- Republic of North Macedonia
- San Marino
- Serbia
- Seychelles
- Thailand
- Turkey
- United Kingdom
- Ukraine
- Uruguay
- Vietnam

The **validity of the recovery certificate is 180 days**, namely for persons who have had a recent SARS-CoV-2 infection within 6 months prior to travel and who have completed the applicable period of isolation in the respective country with resolution of all symptoms of infection.