And the winners are ... 7th edition of the Luxembourg Film Prize (Lëtzebuerger Filmpräis)

The 7th edition of the Luxembourg Film Prize took place on 5 March 2016 at the Grand Théâtre de la Ville de Luxembourg in the presence of Their Royal Highnesses the Grand Duke and the Grand Duchess, Xavier Bettel, Prime Minister, Minister for Communications and Media and Minister of culture, Guy Arendt, Secretary of State for Culture as well as Lydie Polfer, Mayor of Luxembourg city.

The list of nominees included a total of 9 short films, 16 co-productions, 4 Luxembourg feature films, 9 documentaries, 3 feature films and 3 animated short films which all competed for the coveted trophy. In total the Academy had selected 30 nominations, including 14 for the prize for best artistic contribution and 16 for the prize for best technical contribution.

As in the previous edition, the awards were decided by professionals from the film industry who are members of the "Filmakademie". All industry professionals were eligible to join the Academy as an associate member and vote for the Filmpräis.

Managing director Guy Daleiden and President of the Luxembourg Film Academy are proud to announce the following results of the votes:

Best Animation Short Film

« THE LIGHT EATER » directed by Sean Mc Cormack
Production Fabrique d'Images

Best Fiction Short Film

QUENOTTES directed by Pascal Thiébaux and Gil Pinheiro

Production Zeilt productions

Best Technical Contribution

Jako Raybaut – Best Photography – « ENG NEI ZÄIT »

("TOMORROW AFTER THE WAR")

Best Artistic Contribution
Luc SCHILTZ – Actor – « ENG NEI ZÄIT »
("TOMORROW AFTER THE WAR")

Best Documentary Film

« BLACK HARVEST » directed by Jean-Louis Schuller and Sean Clark

Production Antevita Films

Best Animation Co-Production

« SONG OF THE SEA » directed by Tomm Moore
Co-Production Melusine Productions

Best Fiction Co-Production
« LE TOUT NOUVEAU TESTAMENT » (« THE BRAND NEW TESTAMENT »)
directed by Jaco Van Dormael
Co-Production Juliette Films

Best Luxembourg Film
« ENG NEI ZÄIT » ("TOMORROW AFTER THE WAR")
directed by Christophe Wagner – Production Samsa Film

Reminder: The Luxembourg Film Prize was created in 2003 to reward the best contributions in Luxembourg cinema, to showcase the works of quality, to promote the development of the national film industry and to draw public attention to Luxembourg's productions and coproductions. Since the creation of the Luxembourg Film Academy in 2012 – the members of the Academy are voting on the different prizes.

Copyright pictures: @Film Fund Luxembourg