Biography

Lex Delles was born on 28 November 1984. He is originally from Mondorf-les-Bains.

Education and qualifications

Following his secondary school studies, Lex Delles began studying law at the University of Luxembourg before graduating in educational sciences from HERS (Haute Ecole Robert Schuman) in Virton (Belgium).

Governmental posts

Following the legislative elections of 14 October 2018, Lex Delles joined the government as Minister for Small and Medium-Sized Enterprises and as Minister for Tourism on 5 December 2018 in the coalition government formed by the Democratic Party (DP), the Luxembourg Socialist Workers’ Party (LSAP) and the Green Party (déi gréng).  

Other political posts

True to his motto "It is easy to criticise but better to act", Lex Delles joined the youth wing of the Democratic Party of Luxembourg (Jonk Demokraten - JDL). He revived the JDL section in Mondorf-les-Bains and the democratic youth of the constituency of the East which he was president until 2013. Since November 2015, Lex Delles has been vice-president of the DP.

In 2011, Lex Delles ran for the first time in the municipal elections and was elected right away first alderman of Mondorf-les-Bains. In January 2014, he was sworn in as mayor of his hometown.

Following the legislative elections of 2013, Lex Delles was elected to Parliament and in 2014, at the age of 29, he became Luxembourg’s youngest député-maire (both, Member of Parliament and mayor). During the 2017 municipal elections, he retained his mandate as mayor until he joined the government.

At the Chamber of Deputies, Lex Delles chaired the Committee for Education, Children and Youth from 2013 to 2018. He was also a member of the Committee for the Civil Service and Administrative Reform, of the Committee for Agriculture, Viticulture, Rural Development and Consumer Protection, as well as of the Committee for Culture.

Lex Delles was also an alternate member of the Luxembourg delegation to the Benelux Interparliamentary Consultative Council from 2015 to 2018.

Professional activities

After his studies, Lex Delles started a career as a teacher in the primary school in Lenningen.

Last update

Biographie

Lex Delles wurde am 28. November 1984 in Bad Mondorf geboren.

Studium und Ausbildung

Nach seinem Abitur 2003 studierte Lex Delles erst Rechtswissenschaften an der Universität Luxemburg, erhielt dann aber sein Diplom in Erziehungswissenschaften an der HERS (Haute Ecole Robert Schuman) in Virton (Belgien).

Regierungsämter

Im Anschluss an die Parlamentswahlen vom 14. Oktober 2018 wurde Lex Delles erstmals Regierungsmitglied und trat am 5. Dezember 2018 als Minister für Mittelstand und als Minister für Tourismus in die Koalitionsregierung aus Demokratischer Partei (DP), Luxemburger Sozialistischer Arbeiterpartei (LSAP) und Grünen (déi gréng) ein.  

Sonstige politische Ämter

Getreu seiner Devise "Es ist immer einfach, Kritik zu üben; besser wäre es aber, etwas zu tun" engagiert sich Lex Delles seit 2010 bei den Jungen Demokraten (Jonk Demokraten - JDL). Er ließ die örtliche Sektion der JDL in Bad Mondorf und die Jungen Demokraten im Bezirk Osten wieder aufleben und war bis 2013 auch deren Präsident. Seit November 2015 ist Lex Delles Vizepräsident der DP.

2011 trat Lex Delles zum ersten Mal zur Gemeindewahl an und wurde auch auf Anhieb zum Schöffen von Bad Mondorf gewählt. Im Januar 2014 wurde er als Bürgermeister seiner Geburtsgemeinde vereidigt.

Bei den Parlamentswahlen 2013 wurde Lex Delles in die Abgeordnetenkammer gewählt und wurde 2014, im Alter von 29 Jahren, jüngster député-maire (Abgeordneter und Bürgermeister zugleich) Luxemburgs. Bei den Kommunalwahlen 2017 konnte Lex Delles sein Mandat als Bürgermeister verteidigen und hielt dieses auch bis zu seinem Eintritt in die Regierung inne.

In der Abgeordnetenkammer präsidierte Lex Delles von 2013 bis 2018 die Kommission für Bildung, Kinder und Jugend. Er war ebenfalls Mitglied der Kommission für den öffentlichen Dienst und die Verwaltungsreform, der Kommission für Landwirtschaft, Weinbau, ländliche Entwicklung und Verbraucherschutz, sowie der Kommission für Kultur.

Außerdem war Lex Delles von 2015 bis 2018 Ersatzmitglied der luxemburgischen Delegation des Beratenden Interparlamentarischen Benelux-Rates.

Berufliche Tätigkeiten

Nach seinem Studium arbeitete Lex Delles als Lehrer an der Grundschule Lenningen.

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am