Biography

Étienne Schneider was born on 29 January 1971 in Dudelange.

Education and qualifications

Following his secondary school studies at the Lycée technique Nic-Biever in Dudelange and subsequently the Lycée technique d'Esch-sur-Alzette, Étienne Schneider pursued a higher education at the Institut catholique des hautes études commerciales (ICHEC) in Brussels and at Greenwich University in London, where he was awarded a degree in commercial and financial sciences in 1995.

Governmental posts

Étienne Schneider joined the government in February 2012 as Minister of the Economy and Foreign Trade in the coalition government formed by the Christian Social Party (CSV) and the Luxembourg Socialist Workers' Party (LSAP).

Following the legislative elections of 20 October 2013, Étienne Schneider was appointed Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of the Economy, Minister of Internal Security and Minister of Defence on 4 December 2013 in the coalition government formed by the Democratic Party (DP), the LSAP and the Green Party (déi gréng).

After the legislative elections of 14 October 2018, Étienne Schneider was appointed Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of the Economy and Minister of Health on 5 December 2018 in the coalition government formed by the DP, the LSAP and déi gréng.

Other political posts

A member of the LSAP since 1991, Étienne Schneider was a municipal councillor in Kayl from 1995 to 2005. Following the municipal elections of 2005, he was elected first alderman, a mandate he held until 2010.

From 1997 to 2004, he assumed the role of secretary general of the LSAP parliamentary group in Parliament.

Professional activities

From 1995 to 1996, Étienne Schneider was a research assistant at the European Parliament in Brussels.

From 1996 to 1997, he worked as an economist for the LSAP parliamentary group in the Chamber of Deputies.

In 1997, he served as a project leader with the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation (NATO) in Brussels. 

In 2004, Étienne Schneider was appointed Government Advisor to the Ministry of the Economy and Foreign Trade, where he was primarily responsible for the Directorates of Energy, E-Commerce and IT/Data Security.

In 2009, he was appointed Senior Government Advisor to the Ministry of the Economy and Foreign Trade, responsible for the Directorates of Economic Development, Infrastructures and Energy. In 2011, he assumed responsibility for the Directorate General of Economic Development, Industry and Businesses.

Upon proposal of the government and in light of his roles within the Ministry of the Economy and Foreign Trade, Étienne Schneider became a member of the executive board of several companies. In 2005, he was appointed Chairman and Managing Director of the Société électrique de l'Our (SEO). Having led the negotiations that resulted in the creation of the company Enovos in 2010, Étienne Schneider, chairman of the executive board of Cegedel SA since 2004, was subsequently appointed Chairman of Enovos International SA and Enovos Deutschland AG. He was also appointed Chairman and Managing Director of Creos in 2010.

In late 2010, he was appointed Vice-Chairman of the National Credit and Investment Company (Société nationale de crédit et d’investissement – SNCI).

Upon being appointed minister in February 2012, Étienne Schneider resigned from all of these positions.

Last update

Biographie

Étienne Schneider wurde am 29. Januar 1971 in Düdelingen geboren.

Studium und Ausbildung

Nach dem Besuch der Gymnasien Lycée technique Nic Biever in Düdelingen und Lycée technique d’Esch-sur-Alzette studierte Étienne Schneider am Institut catholique des hautes études commerciales (ICHEC) in Brüssel sowie an der Greenwich University in London, wo er 1995 eine Licence (Hochschulabschluss) in Handels- und Finanzwissenschaften erwarb.

Regierungsämter

Étienne Schneider wurde im Februar 2012 erstmals Regierungsmitglied und trat als Minister für Wirtschaft und Außenhandel in die Koalitionsregierung aus Christlich-Sozialer Volkspartei (CSV) und Luxemburger Sozialistischer Arbeiterpartei (LSAP) ein.

Im Anschluss an die Parlamentswahlen vom 20. Oktober 2013 wurde Étienne Schneider am 4. Dezember 2013 zum Vizepremierminister, zum Minister für Wirtschaft, zum Minister für innere Sicherheit sowie zum Minister der Verteidigung in der Koalitionsregierung aus Demokratischer Partei (DP), LSAP und Grünen ("déi gréng") ernannt.

Nach den Parlamentswahlen vom 14. Oktober 2018 wurde Étienne Schneider am 5. Dezember 2018 zum Vizepremierminister, zum Minister für Wirtschaft und zum Minister für Gesundheit in der Koalitionsregierung aus DP, LSAP und "déi gréng" ernannt.

Sonstige politische Ämter

Étienne Schneider, der seit 1991 der LSAP angehört, war von 1995 bis 2005 Gemeinderatsmitglied in Kayl. Nach den Kommunalwahlen von 2005 wurde er zum ersten Beigeordneten des Bürgermeisters gewählt und übte dieses Amt bis 2010 aus.

Von 1997 bis 2004 war er Generalsekretär der LSAP-Fraktion in der Abgeordnetenkammer.

Berufliche Tätigkeiten

Von 1995 bis 1996 war Étienne Schneider wissenschaftlicher Assistent beim Europäischen Parlament in Brüssel.

Von 1996 bis 1997 war er als Ökonom bei der LSAP-Fraktion in der Abgeordnetenkammer tätig.

1997 arbeitete er als Projektleiter bei der Nordatlantikpaktorganisation (NATO) in Brüssel.

2004 wurde Étienne Schneider Regierungsrat im Ministerium für Wirtschaft und Außenhandel, wo er vor allem für die Direktionen für Energie, elektronischen Handel und Datensicherheit zuständig war.

2009 wurde er Erster Regierungsrat und war für die Direktionen Wirtschaftsentwicklung, Infrastruktur und Energie des Ministeriums für Wirtschaft und Außenhandel verantwortlich. 2011 wurde er für die Generaldirektion Wirtschaftsentwicklung, Industrie und Unternehmen zuständig.

Auf Vorschlag der Regierung sowie angesichts seiner Aufgaben im Ministerium für Wirtschaft und Außenhandel war Étienne Schneider Verwaltungsratsmitglied mehrerer Gesellschaften. So wurde er 2005 Präsident und Vorstand der Société électrique de l’Our (SEO). Nachdem er die Verhandlungen, die 2010 zur Gründung von Enovos führten, geleitet hatte, wurde Étienne Schneider, der seit 2004 Verwaltungsratspräsident von Cegedel SA war, anschließend Vorsitzender von Enovos International SA und Enovos Deutschland AG. Darüber hinaus wurde er 2010 Präsident und Vorstand der Netzgesellschaft Creos.

Ende 2010 wurde er Vizevorsitzender der Nationalen Kredit- und Investitionsgesellschaft (Société nationale de crédit et d’investissement – SNCI). Étienne Schneider ist im Februar 2012, am Tag seiner Ernennung zum Minister, von all diesen Ämtern zurückgetreten.

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am