Biography

Félix Braz was born on 16 March 1966 in Differdange.

Education and qualifications

Following his classical secondary school studies, Félix Braz studied law at the Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne, discontinuing his studies after a first successful year.

Governmental posts

Following the legislative elections of 20 October 2013, Félix Braz joined the government as Minister of Justice on 4 December 2013 in the coalition government formed by the Democratic Party (DP), the Luxembourg Socialist Workers' Party (LSAP) and the Green Party (déi gréng).

After the legislative elections of 14 October 2018, Félix Braz was appointed Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Justice on 5 December 2018 in the coalition government formed by the DP, the LSAP and déi gréng.

Other political posts

Involved in politics since 1991 as parliamentary secretary of the Green Party, Félix Braz was elected to Parliament for the first time in 2004 at the age of 38 as candidate for the Green Party in the constituency of the South. He was re-elected in 2009,2013 and 2018. In Parliament, he assumed, among others, the roles of vice president of the Committee on Transport from 2004 to 2009. He served as chairman of the parliamentary group of the Green Party following the elections of 20 October 2013.

As a member of Parliament, he represented Parliament at the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe, the Parliamentary Assembly of the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE), the World Trade Organization (WTO), the Benelux Interparliamentary Consultative Council, the Conference of Parliamentary Committees for Union Affairs of Parliaments of the European Union (COSAC) and the Interparliamentary Conference for the Common Foreign and Security Policy (CFSP) and the Common Security and Defence Policy (CSDP).

At local level, Félix Braz initially served as a municipal councillor in Esch-sur-Alzette from 1995 to 2000, then as an alderman from 2000 to 2011.

Professional activities

In 1990, Félix Braz was the chief editor and presenter of a daily news broadcast in Portuguese on RTL Radio Lëtzebuerg.

From 1991 to 2001, he assumed the role of parliamentary secretary of the Green Party. In 1994, he worked as assistant at the European Parliament to his duties.

Last update

Biographie

Félix Braz wurde am 16. März 1966 in Differdingen geboren.

Studium und Ausbildung

Nach dem Besuch des klassischen Gymnasiums studierte Félix Braz Jura an der Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne. Er brach das Studium ab, nachdem er das erste Jahr bestanden hatte.

Regierungsämter

Im Anschluss an die Parlamentswahlen vom 20. Oktober 2013 wurde Félix Braz erstmals Regierungsmitglied und trat am 4. Dezember 2013 als Minister der Justiz in die Koalitionsregierung aus Demokratischer Partei (DP), Luxemburger Sozialistischer Arbeiterpartei (LSAP) und Grünen (déi gréng) ein.

Nach den Parlamentswahlen vom 14. Oktober 2018 wurde Félix Braz am 5. Dezember 2018 zum Vizepremierminister und zum Minister der Justiz in der Koalitionsregierung aus DP, LSAP und déi gréng ernannt.

Sonstige politische Ämter

Félix Braz, der als parlamentarischer Sekretär der Grünen seit 1991 politisch engagiert ist, wurde 2004 im Alter von 38 Jahren auf der Liste der Grünen im Bezirk Süden erstmals in die Abgeordnetenkammer gewählt. 2009, 2013 und 2018 wurde er wiedergewählt. Im Parlament war er u.a. von 2004 bis 2009 Vizepräsident der Verkehrskommission. Nach den Wahlen vom 20. Oktober 2013 war er Fraktionspräsident der Grünen.

Als Abgeordneter vertrat er die Abgeordnetenkammer in der Parlamentarischen Versammlung des Europarates, in der Parlamentarischen Versammlung der Organisation für Sicherheit und Zusammenarbeit in Europa (OSZE), bei der Welthandelsorganisation (WTO), im Beratenden Interparlamentarischen Benelux-Rat, bei der Konferenz der Europaausschüsse der nationalen Parlamente (COSAC) und bei der Interparlamentarischen Konferenz für die Gemeinsame Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik (GASP) und die Gemeinsame Sicherheits- und Verteidigungspolitik (GSVP).

Auf lokaler Ebene war Félix Braz zunächst von 1995 bis 2000 Gemeinderatsmitglied in Esch an der Alzette und anschließend von 2000 bis 2011 Beigeordneter der Bürgermeisterin.

Berufliche Tätigkeiten

1990 war Félix Braz Chefredakteur und Moderator einer täglich von RTL Radio Lëtzebuerg ausgestrahlten portugiesischsprachigen Nachrichtensendung.

Von 1991 bis 2001 war er parlamentarischer Sekretär der Grünen. 1994 wurde er Assistent am Europäischen Parlament.

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am