Biography

Paulette Lenert was born on 31 May 1968 in Luxembourg.

Education and qualifications

Following her secondary school studies at the Athénée de Luxembourg, Paulette Lenert was awarded a degree in private and corporate law from the University d'Aix-Marseille III in 1991. After her master's degree, she pursued her studies in the United Kingdom and obtained a master's in European law from the University of London in 1992. Paulette Lenert focused her continuing education as much on European law as on the development of her skills in public management and systemic approach.

Governmental posts

Following the legislative elections of 14 October 2018, Paulette Lenert joined the government as Minister for Development Cooperation and Humanitarian Affairs and as Minister for Consumer Protection on 5 December 2018 in the coalition government formed by the Democratic Party (DP), the Luxembourg Socialist Workers’ Party (LSAP) and the Green Party (déi gréng).

Professional activities

Paulette Lenert began her career as a lawyer at the Luxembourg Bar in 1992. She joined the Ministry of Justice in 1994 in the function of justice attaché. In 1997, she was appointed First Judge of the Administrative Tribunal and served as vice president until 2010. From 2010 to 2013, she was senior government advisor to the Minister Delegate of Solidarity Economy.

She was the head of the, in 2013, newly founded Facilitation Unit for Urban Planning and Environment attached to the Ministry of State. Following the reshuffle of the ministerial departments in 2013, she joined the Ministry of the Civil Service and Administrative Reform in the function of senior government advisor and was in charge of the general coordination as of 2014. Furthermore, in January 2017, she was nominated executive director of the National Institute for Public Administration. Paulette Lenert resigned from her functions upon joining the government.

Activities relating to associations

Paulette Lenert was a board member of the ProActif a.s.b.l. between 2011 and 2013. She was also a board member of Initiativ Rëm Schaffen a.s.b.l. and resigned from this function when she joined the government.

Last update

Biographie

Paulette Lenert wurde am 31. Mai 1968 in Luxemburg geboren.

Studium und Ausbildung

Nach ihrem Abitur am Athénée de Luxembourg erhielt sie 1991 ihren Magister (Maîtrise) im Privat- und Wirtschaftsrecht an der Universität Aix-Marseille III. Nach ihrem Magister belegte sie einen Master in europäischem Recht im Vereinigten Königreich an der Universität London, welchen sie 1992 erfolgreich abschloss. Bei ihrer beruflichen Weiterbildung legt Paulette Lenert besonderen Fokus auf europäisches Recht, den Ausbau ihrer Kompetenzen im Bereich der öffentlichen Verwaltung sowie auch der Systemanalyse.

Regierungsämter

Im Anschluss an die Parlamentswahlen vom 14. Oktober 2018 wurde Paulette Lenert erstmals Regierungsmitglied und trat am 5. Dezember 2018 als Ministerin für Entwicklungszusammenarbeit und humanitäre Angelegenheiten sowie als Ministerin für Verbraucherschutz in die Koalitionsregierung aus Demokratischer Partei (DP), Luxemburger Sozialistischer Arbeiterpartei (LSAP) und Grünen (déi gréng) ein.

Berufliche Tätigkeiten

1992 begann Paulette Lenert ihre berufliche Karriere als Anwältin bei der Anwaltskammer Luxemburg. 1994 wurde sie Attachée für Justiz beim Ministerium für Justiz. 1997 wurde sie zur Ersten Richterin am Verwaltungsgericht nominiert und fungierte hier ebenfalls bis 2010 als Vizepräsidentin. Von 2010 bis 2013 war sie Erster Regierungsrat beim Beigeordneten Minister für Solidarwirtschaft.

Anschließend übernahm sie die Direktion der Vereinfachungseinheit in Sachen Bauen und Umwelt, welche 2013 neu geschaffen wurde und dem Staatsministerium angehörte. Nach der Umbildung der Ministerien 2013 trat sie dem Ministerium für den öffentlichen Dienst und die Verwaltungsreform als Erster Regierungsrat bei und übernahm 2014 dessen allgemeine Koordination. Im Januar 2017 wurde sie außerdem mit der allgemeinen Geschäftsführung des Nationalen Instituts für öffentliche Verwaltung ernannt. Paulette Lenert gab all diese Funktionen bei Regierungsantritt auf.

Vereinsaktivitäten

Paulette Lenert war von 2011 bis 2013 Mitglied des Verwaltungsrates von ProActif a.s.b.l. Bis zu ihrem Regierungsantritt war sie Mitglied des Verwaltungsrates von Initiativ Rëm Schaffen a.s.b.l.

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am