Biography

Henri Kox was born on 7 May 1961 in Luxembourg.

Education and qualifications

After obtaining his final vocational diploma from the Institut supérieur de technologie, Henri  Kox obtained a  diploma in engineering from the RWTH Aachen in 1990.

Governmental posts

Following the cabinet reshuffle on 11 October 2019, Henri Kox joined the coalition government formed by the Democratic Party (DP), the Luxembourg Socialist Workers' Party (LSAP) and the Green Party (déi gréng). He was appointed Minister for Housing, Minister Delegate of Defence and Minister Delegate for Internal Security. 

Other political posts

A member of the Green Party since 1996, Henri Kox was elected at local level to the municipal council of the city of Remich in 1999. Following the municipal elections of 2005, he was elected alderman and, from 2009 to 2017, Henri Kox was the mayor of Remich. Following the legislative elections of 2004, he joined the Chamber of Deputies. He was re-elected in 2009, 2013 and 2018.

In Parliament, Henri Kox assumed among others the role of president of the Housing Committee and was member of the Internal Security and Defence Committee, the Finance and Budget Committee and the Environment, Climate, Energy and Spatial Planning Comittee.

Professional activities

Henri Kox became a professor-engineer in 1990 and taught at the Lycée technique des arts et métiers in Luxembourg until July 2004.

During his time as president of Eurosolar Luxembourg a.s.b.l. from 2002 until his inauguration, Henri Kox was very active in the field of renewable energies.

Last update

Biographie

Henri Kox est né le 7 mai 1961 à Luxembourg.

Études et formations

Après avoir obtenu son diplôme de fin d'études secondaires techniques à l'Institut supérieur de technologie, Henri Kox obtient en 1990 un diplôme d'ingénieur en mécanique de l’école supérieure polytechnique de Rhénanie-Westphalie d'Aix-la-Chapelle (RWTH Aachen).

Fonctions gouvernementales

Suite au remaniement ministériel du 11 octobre 2019, Henri Kox fait son entrée au gouvernement de coalition entre le Parti démocratique (DP), le Parti ouvrier socialiste luxembourgeois (LSAP) et Les Verts (déi gréng). Il devient ministre du Logement, ministre délégué à la Défense et ministre délégué à la Sécurité intérieure. 

Autres fonctions politiques

Membre du parti Les Verts depuis 1996, Henri Kox est élu au niveau local au conseil communal de la ville de Remich en 1999. Suite aux élections communales de 2005, il devient échevin, et de 2009 à 2017, Henri Kox est bourgmestre de Remich. Après les élections législatives de 2004, il fait son entrée à la Chambre des députés. Il est réélu en 2009, en 2013 et en 2018.

En tant que député, Henri Kox a notamment été président de la commission du Logement et membre de la commission de la Sécurité intérieure et de la Défense, de la commission des Finances et du Budget et de la commission de l'Environnement, du Climat, de l'Énergie et de l'Aménagement du territoire.

Activités professionnelles

Henri Kox devient professeur-ingénieur en 1990 et est affecté, jusqu'en juillet 2004, au Lycée technique des arts et métiers à Luxembourg.

Très actif dans le domaine des énergies renouvelables, il est de 2002 jusqu’à son entrée au gouvernement, président d'Eurosolar Luxembourg a.s.b.l.

Dernière mise à jour