Biography

Lex Delles was born on 28 November 1984. He is originally from Mondorf-les-Bains.

Education and qualifications

Following his secondary school studies, Lex Delles began studying law at the University of Luxembourg before graduating in educational sciences from HERS (Haute Ecole Robert Schuman) in Virton (Belgium).

Governmental posts

Following the legislative elections of 14 October 2018, Lex Delles joined the government as Minister for Small and Medium-Sized Enterprises and as Minister for Tourism on 5 December 2018 in the coalition government formed by the Democratic Party (DP), the Luxembourg Socialist Workers’ Party (LSAP) and the Green Party (déi gréng).  

Other political posts

True to his motto "It is easy to criticise but better to act", Lex Delles joined the youth wing of the Democratic Party of Luxembourg (Jonk Demokraten - JDL). He revived the JDL section in Mondorf-les-Bains and the democratic youth of the constituency of the East which he was president until 2013. Since November 2015, Lex Delles has been vice-president of the DP.

In 2011, Lex Delles ran for the first time in the municipal elections and was elected right away first alderman of Mondorf-les-Bains. In January 2014, he was sworn in as mayor of his hometown.

Following the legislative elections of 2013, Lex Delles was elected to Parliament and in 2014, at the age of 29, he became Luxembourg’s youngest député-maire (both, Member of Parliament and mayor). During the 2017 municipal elections, he retained his mandate as mayor until he joined the government.

At the Chamber of Deputies, Lex Delles chaired the Committee for Education, Children and Youth from 2013 to 2018. He was also a member of the Committee for the Civil Service and Administrative Reform, of the Committee for Agriculture, Viticulture, Rural Development and Consumer Protection, as well as of the Committee for Culture.

Lex Delles was also an alternate member of the Luxembourg delegation to the Benelux Interparliamentary Consultative Council from 2015 to 2018.

Professional activities

After his studies, Lex Delles started a career as a teacher in the primary school in Lenningen.

Last update

Biographie

Lex Delles est né le 28 novembre 1984. Il est originaire de Mondorf-les-Bains.

Études et formations

Après son baccalauréat en 2003, Lex Delles entame des études en droit à l’Université du Luxembourg avant d’être diplômé en sciences pédagogiques à l’HERS (Haute Ecole Robert Schuman) à Virton (Belgique).

Fonctions gouvernementales

À la suite des élections législatives du 14 octobre 2018, Lex Delles fait son entrée au gouvernement comme ministre des Classes moyennes et ministre du Tourisme en date du 5 décembre 2018 dans le gouvernement de coalition entre le Parti démocratique (DP), le Parti ouvrier socialiste luxembourgeois (LSAP) et Les Verts (déi gréng). 

Autres fonctions politiques

Fidèle à sa devise "Rien n’est plus facile que de critiquer, mieux vaut agir", Lex Delles s’engage dès 2010 auprès de la Jeunesse démocrate et libérale du Luxembourg (Jonk Demokraten - JDL). Il relance la section de la JDL à Mondorf-les-Bains et les Jeunes démocrates de la Circonscription Ouest, dont il est président jusqu’en 2013. Il est vice-président du DP depuis novembre 2015.

Lex Delles se présente pour la première fois aux élections communales en 2011 et est élu d’emblée premier échevin de Mondorf-les-Bains. En janvier 2014, il est assermenté bourgmestre de sa commune natale. Lex Delles est par ailleurs président du Syndicat intercommunal pour la création, l’aménagement, la promotion et l’exploitation d’une zone d’activités économiques à caractère régional dans le canton de Remich (SIAER - Triangle vert) de mars 2014 jusqu'à son entrée au gouvernement.

Suite aux élections législatives de 2013, Lex Delles est élu à la Chambre des députés et devient en 2014, à l’âge de 29 ans, le plus jeune député-maire du pays. Lors des élections communales de 2017, il conserve son mandat de bourgmestre jusqu’à son entrée au gouvernement.

À la Chambre des députés, Lex Delles préside de 2013 à 2018 la commission de l'Éducation nationale, de l'Enfance et de la Jeunesse. Il est alors également membre de la commission de la Fonction publique et de la Réforme administrative, de la commission de l'Agriculture, de la Viticulture, du Développement rural et de la Protection des consommateurs ainsi que de la commission de la Culture.

Lex Delles est par ailleurs membre suppléant de la délégation luxembourgeoise auprès du Conseil interparlementaire consultatif de Benelux de 2015 à 2018.

Activités professionnelles

Après ses études, Lex Delles entame une carrière d’instituteur au sein de l’école fondamentale à Lenningen.

Dernière mise à jour