Press release in relation to the new health measures for any travel from countries of southern Africa to the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg

In view of the evolution of the SARS-CoV-2 coronavirus at the international level and the circulation of mutated strains of the SARS-CoV-2 virus whose transmissibility seems to be increased, and more particularly in southern Africa and which therefore exposes the population to a risk of increased infection, the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs and the Ministry of Health would like to inform about the new additional health measures applicable from 27 November 2021 until 14 January 2022 inclusive, for any travel from South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, and Zimbabwe to the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.

Any person who has stayed in South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia or Zimbabwe in the 14 days preceding their arrival on Luxembourg territory must undergo a COVID-19 test (PCR, TMA or LAMP[1] methods) as soon as possible by indicating to the medical analysis laboratory that he or she has stayed in one or more of these countries. This obligation applies to any person who has stayed in one of the aforementioned countries in the 14 days preceding their arrival, regardless of the duration of the stay in one of these countries and in Luxembourg, and regardless of the means of transport to the Grand Duchy.

Upon arrival in the Grand Duchy, the persons concerned are placed in strict quarantine for 7 days with the obligation to undergo a second nucleic acid amplification tests of SARS-CoV-2 viral RNA (PCR, TMA or LAMP methods) from the 6th day of quarantine. In the event of refusal to submit to the test on arrival or at the end of the 7-day quarantine period, the quarantine will be extended for a further 7 days, bringing the total duration to 14 days.

Those concerned are required to report their presence to the Health Inspection Department (per e-mail: or by telephone: 247-65533), which ensures a reinforced monitoring and tracing.

By way of derogation, this new obligation of testing and quarantine does not apply to passengers in transit.

These additional health measures apply in parallel to the health and immigration restrictions in force. The details of the applicable rules and the exemptions in place, as well as the exact procedures to be carried out beforehand, can be consulted by following the link below:

[1] PCR: polymerase chain reaction; TMA: transcription-mediated amplification; LAMP: loop-mediated isothermal amplification.

Press release by the Ministry of Health / Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs

Last update