Electoral system

Legislative elections

Every five years, Luxembourg's voters elect the 60 members who make up the Chamber of Deputies. The legislative elections (parliamentary elections) are carried out via direct universal suffrage and proportional ballot.

Municipal elections

Municipal councillors are elected directly every six years by the inhabitants of the municipality, that is to say voters with Luxembourg nationality and voters without Luxembourg nationality who have requested to be registered on the electoral roll and who meet the conditions determined by law.

Each municipality in Luxembourg is run by a municipal council chaired by a mayor. The municipal council is the legislative power at municipal level.

A council of the mayor and aldermen, a formation which is composed of members of the municipal council, corresponds to the executive at municipal level. The number of municipal councillors and aldermen varies according to the population of the municipality.

European elections

Every five years, Luxembourg's voters elect six European deputies out of a total of 751, by direct universal suffrage. For the European elections, Luxembourg forms a single constituency.

European union nationals residing in the Grand Duchy may vote for the Luxembourg representatives if they are registered on the electoral rolls of their municipality of residence and if they meet the conditions provided for by law.

Last update