Extension of the sanitary measures applicable to air travel to the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg

The Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs and the Ministry of Health inform that the current sanitary measures to be observed by people entering Luxembourg by air travel are extended until 28 February 2022 inclusive.

Thus, any person aged 12 years and 2 months or above, is required to present, before boarding a flight to Luxembourg:

  • Either a vaccination certificate attesting to a complete vaccination pattern [1] against Covid-19, established in accordance with article 3bis, paragraphs 1 to 2, of the amended law of 17 July 2020 on measures to combat the Covid-19 pandemic. Namely a vaccination certificate issued by the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, a Member State of the European Union or the Schengen Area. Certificates issued by certain third countries are also accepted (see below for the relevant third countries).
  • Or a recovery certificate established in accordance with the provisions of Regulation (EU) 2021/953, for people who have had a recent SARS-CoV-2 infection within 6 months prior to travel and who have completed the applicable isolation period in the respective country with resolution of all symptoms of infection;
  • Or the negative result (on paper or electronically) of a nucleic acid amplification test (NAAT) for the detection of SARS-CoV-2 viral RNA (PCR, TMA or LAMP methods [2]) carried out less than 72 hours before the flight or of a SARS-CoV-2 rapid antigen test [3] carried out less than 48 hours before the flight, by a medical analysis laboratory or any other entity authorised for this purpose. The negative result of the test must be presented, if necessary, accompanied by a translation in one of the administrative languages of Luxembourg or in English, Italian, Spanish or Portuguese.

It is recalled that additional health measures are applicable, until 14 January 2022 inclusive, for all travel from Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe.

Following the recent decisions of the European Commission, certificates issued by the authorities of Cabo Verde, Lebanon, and the United Arab Emirates are to be considered as equivalent. Thus, third-country nationals holding a certificate proving a complete vaccination pattern issued by Cabo Verde, Lebanon, or the United Arab will henceforth be authorized to enter the territory of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, including for non-essential travel.

Along with the vaccination certificates issued by a member State of the European Union or the Schengen Area, Luxembourg also recognizes certificates proving a complete vaccination pattern issued by the following third countries, on condition that the vaccine administered is accepted by the Grand Duchy [4]:

  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Armenia
  • Cabo Verde
  • El Salvador
  • Faroe Islands
  • Georgia
  • Israel
  • Lebanon
  • Moldova
  • Morocco
  • Monaco
  • New Zealand
  • Panama
  • Republic of North Macedonia
  • San Marino
  • Serbia
  • Singapore
  • Togo
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America
  • Vatican

Please note that any person, regardless of nationality and place of residence, holding a vaccination certificate issued by one of the aforementioned states, can use their certificate to meet the additional health measures applicable for all travel by air transport to the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.

The details of the applicable rules and the exemptions in place, as well as the exact procedures to be carried out beforehand can be consulted by following the link below:


[1] a) Any pattern that defines the number and interval of injections necessary to achieve sufficient protective immunity and is complete upon administration of the required doses if multiple doses are given or, for single-dose vaccines, after a 14-day interval.

b) For persons who have recovered and have been vaccinated within 180 days of the first positive NAAT test result, the vaccination pattern is complete 14 days after the administration of the single dose of any vaccine administered.

[2] PCR: polymerase chain reaction; TMA: transcription-mediated amplification; LAMP: loop-mediated isothermal amplification.

[3] In accordance with the World Health Organization criteria: antigen-detection in the diagnosis of SARS-CoV-2 infection using rapid immunoassays, Interim Guidance, 11 September 2020, and listed in the list of rapid antigen tests established on the basis of Recommendation 2021/C24/01 of 22 January 2021.

[4] In Luxembourg, the four vaccines that have obtained marketing authorization at european level are accepted:

  • BioNTech Pfizer / Comirnaty
  • Moderna / Spikevax
  • AstraZenea / Vaxzevria
  • Janssen / Janssen vaccine

Along with these vaccines, Luxembourg accepts, as part of the recognition of vaccination certificates issued by third countries, other vaccines considered to be bio-similar to the vaccines used, namely:

  • Covishield (Serum Institute of India Pvt. Ltd (SII))
  • R-Covi (R-Pharm)
  • Covid-19 vaccine (recombinant) (FIOCRUZ)

Press release by the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs

Last update