Conference on the Future of Europe

The Conference on the Future of Europe offers citizens across Europe the opportunity to express their views on what they want from the European Union and to give their opinions on future developments. It was officially launched on Europe Day, 9 May 2021.

This conference offers European citizens a new public space for an open, inclusive and transparent debate on Europe's priorities and challenges. All Europeans, stakeholders and civil society representatives are invited to express their expectations of the European Union. Contributions at European, national, regional and local level can feed the debate on the future of Europe.

Aware of the importance of the European debate with the citizens, the Luxembourg Government gives its full support to this initiative, which continue the citizens' consultations that took place before the 2019 European elections. 

Background

In a joint declaration signed on 10 March 2021, the Presidents of the European Commission, the European Parliament and the Council of the EU invite all Europeans to participate in the Conference on the Future of Europe and to express themselves:

  • on the direction they want the European Union to take;
  • on policies in all areas;
  • on their expectations of the Union.

How can you contribute?

To submit your contributions or to register your event, go to the digital and interactive platform of the Conference on the Future of Europe!

The digital platform is the central element of the Conference on the Future of Europe. It gives citizens the opportunity to express themselves, to let people know what kind of Europe they want to live in and to help shape its future. People from all walks of life are encouraged to contribute through the platform.

The platform also provides information on the structure and work of the conference. It is open to all Europeans, as well as to all EU institutions and bodies, national parliaments, national and local authorities, and civil society.

"The future is in your hands"

The platform is structured around several main topics:

  • Climate change and the environment;
  • Health;
  • A stronger economy, social justice and jobs;
  • EU in the world;
  • Values and rights, rule of law, security;
  • Digital transformation;
  • European democracy;
  • Migration;
  • Education, culture, youth and sport.

An "other ideas" field allows for the collection of other opinions and to complete these themes, as everyone is free to raise any issue of importance to them.

The key ideas and recommendations emerging from the platform will serve as input to the European citizens' panel discussions and the plenary sessions, where they will be debated to produce the conference conclusions. 

The Conference process

The Conference on the Future of Europe was officially launched on Europe Day, 9 May 2021.

In addition to the Conference plenary and the European citizens' panels building around four major thematic blocks, citizens can share their opinions via the multilingual digital platform. The platform also lists events taking place across Europe, both in-person and online.

All the relevant information concerning the organization of an event in the framework of the Conference on the Future of Europe can also be found on the platform.

Events

9 May 2021 - exchange in Schengen

On the occasion of Europe Day 2021, which also marked the start of the Conference on the Future of Europe, an exchange took place on the Place des Etoiles in front of the Schengen Museum between citizens, MEPs and European Commissioner Nicolas Schmit on the theme of the Conference on the Future of Europe. Citizens were invited to ask questions about the future of Europe and to make their voices heard.

21 June 2021 - trinational exchange with students

As part of the Conference on the Future of Europe, a tri-national discussion took place on 21 June 2021 at Institute Pierre Werner between the Minister of Foreign and European Affairs, Jean Asselborn, and the Minister Delegate for European Affairs of the Federal Republic of Germany, Michael Roth, in the presence of the French Ambassador Bruno Perdu, who represented the Secretary of State Clément Beaune. The Ministers exchanged views with German, French and Luxembourg high school students present in the room. The discussion can be viewed online here.

15 November 2021 - Europe in 2030: Hackathon for young entrepreneurs

As part of the Conference on the Future of Europe, an exchange around the Digital Compass and the EU industrial strategy took place in the presence of Prime Minister Xavier Bettel, the European Commissioner for the Internal Market Thierry Breton, the Minister of the Economy Franz Fayot, and the President of the Chamber of Commerce Luc Frieden. Students and young entrepreneurs discussed their vision of Europe in 2030. Additional information can be found here.

18 November 2021 – Solidarity in the EU Member States

At a meeting with students of the European School Luxembourg and from several universities, the Minister for Foreign and European Affairs, Jean Asselborn, and MEPs Katarina Barley and Isabelle Wiseler exchanged views with them on the topic of European Solidarity. Additional information can be found here.

Campaign of the Chamber of Deputies

The Chamber of Deputies launched a national campaign on 14 September 2021, which is based on different types of events. These events include:

  • Four thematic panels in the Chamber of Deputies (growing inequality, economic competitiveness of the European Union, managing migration flows, and climate change);
  • Discussions in cafés in the four constituencies (in Grevenmacher, Diekirch, Luxembourg and Esch-sur-Alzette);
  • The organization of an exchange of views between representatives from the Youth Parliament and the Chamber of Deputies on the future of Europe;
  • The "parliament at home", an initiative that calls on citizens to organize discussions at home and pass on their conclusions to the Chamber of Deputies.

These events are an opportunity to exchange views on issues of interest to citizens, as well as on topics that particularly concern them, with a strong emphasis on a "bottom-up” approach.

In addition, on 26 September 2021, citizens were able to meet Luxembourgish and European Members of Parliaments during a cross-border bicycle tour. This first meeting was an opportunity to exchange views with them on the societal and cross-border challenges of the European Union.

More information, as well as the calendar of the planned events can be found here.

 

Last update

Konferenz zur Zukunft Europas

Die Konferenz zur Zukunft Europas bietet Bürgern in ganz Europa die Möglichkeit, ihre Erwartungen an die Europäische Union zu äußern und ihre Ansichten zu zukünftigen Entwicklungen darzulegen. Die offizielle Einführung erfolgte am 9. Mai 2021, dem Europatag.

Diese Konferenz bietet den europäischen Bürgern ein neues öffentliches Forum für eine offene, inklusive und transparente Debatte über die Prioritäten und Herausforderungen Europas. Alle Europäer, Interessenvertreter und Vertreter der Zivilgesellschaft sind eingeladen, ihre Erwartungen an die Europäische Union zu äußern. Beiträge auf europäischer, nationaler, regionaler und lokaler Ebene können in die Debatte zur Zukunft Europas einfließen.

Die luxemburgische Regierung ist sich der Bedeutung der europäischen Debatte mit den Bürgern bewusst und unterstützt diese Initiative ausdrücklich, welche die Bürgerkonsultationen, die vor den Europawahlen 2019 stattgefunden haben, fortsetzt.

Hintergrund

In einer gemeinsamen Erklärung, die am 10. März 2021 unterzeichnet wurde, laden die Präsidenten der Europäischen Kommission, des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates der EU die Europäer ein, an der Konferenz zur Zukunft Europas teilzunehmen und sich zu äußern:

  • über die gewünschte Richtung, die die Europäische Union einschlagen soll;
  • über die in allen Bereichen verfolgte Politik;
  • über ihre Erwartungen an die Union.

Wie kann ich mitmachen?

Um Ihre Beiträge einzureichen oder Ihre Veranstaltung anzumelden, nutzen Sie die digitale und interaktive Plattform der Konferenz zur Zukunft Europas!

Die digitale Plattform ist das zentrale Element der Konferenz zur Zukunft Europas. Sie gibt den Bürgern die Möglichkeit, sich zu äußern, mitzuteilen, in welchem Europa sie leben wollen und dessen Zukunft mitzugestalten. Alle Bürger werden ermutigt, sich über die Plattform einzubringen.

Die Plattform bietet außerdem Informationen über die Struktur und die Arbeiten der Konferenz. Sie steht allen Europäern sowie allen EU-Institutionen und -Einrichtungen, nationalen Parlamenten, nationalen und lokalen Behörden und der Zivilgesellschaft zur Verfügung.

"Die Zukunft liegt in Ihren Händen"

Die Plattform ist um mehrere Hauptthemen herum strukturiert:

  • Klimawandel und Umwelt;
  • Gesundheit;
  • Eine stärkere und gerechtere Wirtschaft; soziale Gerechtigkeit und Beschäftigung;
  • Die EU in der Welt;
  • Werte und Rechte; Rechtsstaatlichkeit, Sicherheit;
  • Digitaler Wandel;
  • Demokratie in Europa;
  • Migration;
  • Bildung, Kultur, Jugend und Sport.

Ein Bereich "weitere Ideen" ermöglicht es, andere Meinungen zu sammeln und diese Themen zu vervollständigen, da es jedem freisteht, jede in seinen Augen wichtige Frage zu stellen.

Die wichtigsten Ideen und Empfehlungen der Plattform speisen die Podiumsdiskussionen der europäischen Bürger und die Plenarsitzungen, wo sie diskutiert werden, um die Schlussfolgerungen der Konferenz zu ziehen.

Ablauf der Konferenz

Die Konferenz zur Zukunft Europas wurde offiziell am Europatag, dem 9. Mai 2021, eröffnet.

Neben der Plenarversammlung der Konferenz und denen um vier große Themenblöcke herum gebildeten europäischen Bürgerforen, können die Bürger ihre Meinung über die mehrsprachige digitale Plattform teilen. Die Plattform listet auch Veranstaltungen auf, die in ganz Europa stattfinden, sowohl Präsenz- als auch Onlineveranstaltungen.

Alle nützlichen Informationen bezüglich der Organisation einer Veranstaltung im Rahmen der Konferenz zur Zukunft Europas sind ebenfalls auf der Plattform zu finden.

Veranstaltungen

9. Mai 2021 - Austausch in Schengen

Anlässlich des Europatages 2021, der gleichzeitig den Auftakt zur Konferenz zur Zukunft Europas bildete, fand auf dem "Place des Etoiles" vor dem Schengen-Museum ein Austausch zwischen Bürgern, Europaabgeordneten und EU-Kommissar Nicolas Schmit zum Thema Konferenz zur Zukunft Europas statt. Die Bürger waren eingeladen, Fragen zur Zukunft Europas zu stellen und sich Gehör zu verschaffen.

21. Juni 2021 - trinationaler Austausch mit Studenten

Im Rahmen der Konferenz zur Zukunft Europas fand am 21. Juni 2021 um 17.30 Uhr eine trinationale Diskussion im Institut Pierre Werner zwischen dem Minister für Auswärtige und Europäische Angelegenheiten, Jean Asselborn, und dem Europabeauftragten der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, Michael Roth, in Anwesenheit des französischen Botschafters Bruno Perdu, der den Staatssekretär Clément Beaune vertrat, statt. Die Minister tauschten sich mit den im Raum anwesenden deutschen, französischen und luxemburgischen Gymnasiasten aus. Die Diskussion kann hier online verfolgt werden.

15. November 2021 - Europa im Jahr 2030: Hackathon für junge Unternehmer

Im Rahmen der Konferenz zur Zukunft Europas fand ein Austausch über den digitalen Kompass und die Industriestrategie der EU in Anwesenheit des Premierministers Xavier Bettel, des für den Binnenmarkt zuständigen EU-Kommissars Thierry Breton, des Wirtschaftsministers Franz Fayot und des Präsidenten der Handelskammer Luc Frieden, statt. Studenten und junge Unternehmer diskutierten über ihre Vision von Europa im Jahr 2030. Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.

18. November 2021 - Solidarität in den EU-Mitgliedstaaten

Der Minister für auswärtige und europäische Angelegenheiten, Jean Asselborn, und die Europaabgeordneten Katarina Barley und Isabelle Wiseler haben sich bei einem Treffen mit Schülern der Europäischen Schule Luxemburg und Studenten mehrerer Universitäten über das Thema der Solidarität in Europa ausgetauscht. Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.

Kampagne der Abgeordnetenkammer

Die Abgeordnetenkammer hat am 14. September 2021 eine nationale Kampagne gestartet, die sich auf verschiedene Arten von Veranstaltungen stützt. Diese Ereignisse umfassen:

  • Vier thematische Panels in der Abgeordnetenkammer (zunehmende Ungleichheit, wirtschaftliche Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Europäischen Union, Steuerung der Migrationsströme und Klimawandel);
  • Diskussionen in Cafés in den vier Wahlkreisen (Grevenmacher, Diekirch, Luxemburg und Esch an der Alzette);
  • Die Organisation eines Meinungsaustauschs zwischen Vertretern des Jugendparlaments und der Abgeordnetenkammer zur Zukunft Europas;
  • Die "Parlamente zu Hause", ein Konzept welches die Bürger dazu aufruft, bei sich zuhause Diskussionen zu veranstalten und die Schlussfolgerungen anschließend an die Abgeordnetenkammer weiterzuleiten.

Diese Veranstaltungen bieten eine Gelegenheit zum Meinungsaustausch über Fragen, die für die Bürger von Interesse sind, und über Themen, die sie besonders betreffen, wobei der Schwerpunkt auf einem "Bottom-up" -Ansatz liegt.

Ebenso konnten die Bürger am 26. September 2021 anlässlich einer grenzüberschreitenden Fahrradtour luxemburgische und europäische Abgeordnete treffen. Dieses erste Treffen bot die Gelegenheit, sich mit ihnen über die gesellschaftlichen und grenzüberschreitenden Herausforderungen in der Europäischen Union auszutauschen.

Weitere Informationen, sowie den Veranstaltungskalender finden Sie hier.

 

 

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am