Head of State

The Grand Duke

Since 7 October 2000, His Royal Highness Grand Duke Henri has been the head of state of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.

He is the second child and eldest son of Grand Duke Jean and Grand Duchess Joséphine-Charlotte of Luxembourg, and was born at Betzdorf castle on 16 April 1955.

Article 33 of the Constitution provides that 'The Grand Duke is the head of state, symbol of its unity and guarantor of national independence. He exercises executive power in accordance with the Constitution and the country's laws.'

Both within and outside the borders of Luxembourg, the Grand Duke expresses the identity of the country. He symbolises its independence, the unity of the territory and the permanence of the state.

The Grand Duke participates in legislative power and exercises executive power through his government which is politically responsible before the Chamber of Deputies.

S.A.R. le Grand-Duc
H.R.H. the Grand Duke

Inviolability and freedom from responsibility

The Constitution places the head of state in a unique position outside common law

The Constitution provides that the person of the Grand Duke is inviolable, in other words he cannot be tried by any court and he cannot be asked to be held accountable for his actions. This inviolability implies complete unaccountability. This unaccountability is general and absolute from both a penal and political standpoint. The Grand Duke's inviolability and unaccountability ensure the stability of the monarchical institution and also ensure his impartiality with respect to the political world.

The Grand Duke’s political unaccountability has ministerial responsibility as its counterpart. Any measure adopted by the Grand Duke in the exercise of his constitutional powers must be countersigned by a member of the government, who assumes full responsibility for it.

The Grand Duke's executive remit

Article 34 of the Constitution provides that the Grand Duke enacts laws. Enactment is the act by which the Grand Duke attests to the content of the law and that the procedure for drafting the law was carried out in the proper fashion. This makes the law enforceable, in other words applicable. The law is published in the Official Journal of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.

The Grand Duke's regulatory power consists in taking the regulations and administrative orders required for the enforcement of laws and treaties. In some cases he may delegate this power to the members of his government.

Article 74 of the Constitution provides that the Grand Duke may dissolve the Chamber of Deputies. In this case, new legislative elections must take place within three months. In practice, dissolution only takes place at the proposal of the government. The Grand Duke either opens and closes the parliamentary sessions personally, or via his representative. He also convenes extraordinary sessions.

In principle, the text of the Constitution grants the Grand Duke the freedom to choose his ministers who are his trusted men and women and who exercise executive power with him. According to custom, the Grand Duke only chooses the Prime Minister, who takes care to compose a government which will win the support of the parliamentary majority.

Justice remit

Justice is delivered in the name of the Grand Duke, however he doesn't have the right to intervene in the exercise of judicial power.

International remit

The Grand Duke represents the country abroad, he makes treaties and he ensures that the interests of the state and of Luxembourgish nationals are safeguarded.

Power to appoint

The Grand Duke regulates the organisation of the government and the administrative services. He also appoints civil and military posts. He commands the armed forces.

Regalian rights

The Constitution reserves the prerogative of pardon for the Grand Duke, which means the right to reconsider or reduce the sentences handed down by judges, the right to mint coins in accordance with the law, the right to confer titles of nobility without being able to attach any privileges to these titles, as well as the right to confer honorary titles in civil and military orders.

Last update

Staatsoberhaupt

Der Großherzog

Seit dem 7. Oktober 2000 ist Seine Königliche Hoheit Großherzog Henri Staatsoberhaupt des Großherzogtums Luxemburg.

Als zweites Kind und ältester Sohn von Großherzog Jean und Großherzogin Joséphine-Charlotte wurde er am 16. April 1955 im Schloss Betzdorf geboren.

Artikel 33 der Verfassung besagt, dass „der Großherzog Staatsoberhaupt, Symbol der Einheit und Garant für die Unabhängigkeit des Landes ist. Im Einklang mit der Verfassung und den Gesetzen des Landes übt er die vollziehende Gewalt aus“.

Innerhalb und außerhalb der luxemburgischen Grenzen ist der Großherzog Ausdruck der Identität des Landes. Er symbolisiert die Unabhängigkeit des Landes, die Einheit des Staatsgebiets und den Fortbestand des Staates.

Der Großherzog beteiligt sich an der Legislative und übt die Exekutive über seine Regierung aus, die vor der Abgeordnetenkammer politisch verantwortlich ist.

S.A.R. le Grand-Duc
S.K.H. der Großherzog

Unverletzlichkeit und Nicht-Verantwortlichkeit

Die Verfassung räumt dem Staatsoberhaupt eine einmalige Stellung außerhalb des Gemeinrechts ein.

Die Verfassung besagt in der Tat, dass die Person des Großherzogs unverletzlich ist, d. h. er unterliegt keiner Rechtsprechung und kann nicht für seine Handlungen zur Rechenschaft gezogen werden. Die Unverletzlichkeit führt ebenfalls zur gänzlichen Nicht-Verantwortlichkeit des Großherzogs. Diese ist sowohl vom strafrechtlichen als auch vom politischen Standpunkt aus allgemein und absolut. Die Unverletzlichkeit und Nicht-Verantwortlichkeit des Großherzogs stellen die Stabilität der Monarchie sicher und gewährleisten ebenfalls seine Unparteilichkeit gegenüber der politischen Welt.

Der politischen Nicht-Verantwortlichkeit des Großherzogs steht die ministerielle Verantwortlichkeit gegenüber. Jede vom Großherzog in der Ausübung seiner politischen Befugnisse getroffene Maßnahme muss durch ein Mitglied der Regierung gegengezeichnet werden, das hierfür die ganze Verantwortung übernimmt.

Aufgaben des Großherzogs im Rahmen der Exekutive

Artikel 34 der Verfassung besagt, dass der Großherzog die Gesetze verkündet. Die Verkündung ist ein Rechtsakt, durch den der Großherzog den Wortlaut des Gesetzes und die ordnungsgemäße Beendigung des Verfahrens für die Ausfertigung des Gesetzes bezeugt. Durch die Verkündung wird das Gesetz vollstreckbar, d. h. anwendbar. Das Gesetz wird im Amtsblatt des Großherzogtums Luxemburg veröffentlicht.

Die verordnungsrechtliche Befugnis des Großherzogs besteht darin, die zur Durchführung der Gesetze erforderlichen Verordnungen und Erlasse zu erlassen. Unter bestimmten Bedingungen kann er diese Kompetenz an die Mitglieder seiner Regierung übertragen.

Artikel 74 der Verfassung besagt, dass der Großherzog die Abgeordnetenkammer auflösen kann. In diesem Fall müssen innerhalb von drei Monaten neue Parlamentswahlen stattfinden. In der Praxis erfolgt die Auflösung nur auf Vorschlag der Regierung. Der Großherzog eröffnet und schließt die Sitzungsperioden des Parlaments entweder persönlich oder über seinen Vertreter. Er beruft ebenfalls außerordentliche Sitzungsperioden ein.

Laut der Verfassung kann der Großherzog grundsätzlich die Minister frei bestimmen, die seine Vertrauensmänner sind und mit ihm die Exekutivgewalt ausüben. Gemäß den ständigen Gebräuchen bestimmt der Großherzog nur den Premierminister, der die Regierungsbildung übernimmt, an der die parlamentarische Mehrheit beteiligt ist.

Aufgaben im Rahmen der Justiz

Die Rechtsprechung erfolgt im Namen des Großherzogs, ohne dass er jedoch in die richterliche Gewalt eingreifen kann.

Aufgaben auf internationaler Ebene

Als Vertreter des Landes im Ausland schließt der Großherzog Verträge ab und stellt die Wahrung der Interessen des Staates und der luxemburgischen Staatsangehörigen sicher.

Nominierungsbefugnis

Der Großherzog regelt die Organisation der Regierung sowie der Verwaltungsstellen. Er nimmt zudem die Ernennungen zu Zivil- und Militärämtern vor. Er befindet sich an der Spitze der Armee.

Hoheitsrechte

Die Verfassung behält dem Großherzog das Begnadigungsrecht vor, d. h. das Recht auf Aussetzung oder Minderung der von den Richtern verhängten Strafen, das Recht auf Prägung von Münzen in Durchführung des Gesetzes, das Recht auf Verleihung von Adelstiteln, ohne jedoch Privilegien damit verbinden zu können, sowie das Recht auf Verleihung von zivilen und militärischen Ehrentiteln.

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am