Government

Composition

The government is composed of a president bearing the title of Prime Minister, and several members holding the title of minister. It may also include one or several members with the title of 'Minister Delegate' or Secretary of State.

The text of the Constitution allows the Grand Duke the freedom to choose his ministers who are his trusted men and women and who exercise executive power with him.

In practice, however, the Grand Duke is limited in his choice by democratic principle, which requires that the ministers not only have his confidence, but also that of the parliamentary majority. According to custom, the Grand Duke only chooses a Prime Minister who, in view of the election result, is able to put together a government that will win the support of the parliamentary majority. As a general rule, he chooses leading figures of the political groups represented in the Chamber of Deputies. However, nothing can stop him from using technicians with no well-defined political affiliations, if required.

Ministers must have the Luxembourg nationality. Their roles are incompatible with those of magistrate, member of the Court of Auditors, State Councillor, Member of Parliament and Municipal Councillor.

The duration of the ministerial duties is not determined. In theory, the Grand Duke may remove his ministers at any time, but in practice, again taking into account modern democratic practice, he does not make use of this right.

It is also customary for the government to resign the day after the legislative elections and for the Grand Duke to ask the outgoing government to manage day-to-day business until the next government is sworn into office, after the elections.

If none of the political parties represented in the Chamber has an absolute majority, a coalition government is formed. The political parties called upon to be represented in government agree, during negotiations that can be laborious, on a common government programme and on the distribution of ministerial departments.

The new Prime Minister appointed by the Grand Duke is given the task of organising the government, of presiding over it, coordinating its general policy and ensuring coordination between the ministerial departments.

Ministerial responsibility

As a general rule, the Constitution provides that ministers are responsible. Ministerial responsibility is inseparable from the Grand Duke's  irresponsibility. For an act issued by the Grand Duke to come into force, it must be countersigned by a member of the government who assumes full responsibility for it.

Before the Chamber of Deputies, ministers are responsible for the acts which they carry out themselves, either individually or collectively. If the Chamber disapproves of the policy of one or several ministers or of the entire government, it shall express its disagreement, either via a negative vote on a specific agenda proposed by the government, or by rejecting a government bill presented by the ministers. By refusing to adopt the annual budget, the Chamber may put the government in a position whereby it is impossible to manage public affairs.

In the worst case, when the Chamber of Deputies withdraws its confidence (motion of censure) in the ministers, the political responsibility of ministers obliges them to resign. It is customary for a minister to resign after a first hostile from the Chamber of Deputies.

Under the Constitution, only the Chamber may indict ministers. Accusations made against ministers for acts committed during the performance of their duties are brought before the Supreme Court of Justice, sitting in full court. In order to prevent the criminal liability of ministers from becoming illusory, the Constitution provides for an exception to the Grand Duke's right to pardon by providing that a minister who has been sentenced may only be pardoned at the Chamber's request.

Last update

Regierung

Zusammensetzung

Die Regierung setzt sich aus einem Vorsitzenden, der den Titel Premierminister trägt, und aus mehreren Mitgliedern mit dem Titel eines Ministers zusammen. Sie kann ebenfalls ein oder mehrere Mitglieder mit dem Titel eines beigeordneten Ministers oder eines Staatssekretärs beinhalten.

Laut der Verfassung kann der Großherzog die Minister frei bestimmen, die seine Vertrauensmänner sind und mit ihm die Exekutivgewalt ausüben.

In der Praxis ist der Großherzog in seiner Wahl aufgrund des demokratischen Prinzips eingeschränkt, laut dem die Minister nicht nur sein Vertrauen sondern auch das der parlamentarischen Mehrheit haben müssen. Gemäß den ständigen Gebräuchen bestimmt der Großherzog nur den Premierminister, der angesichts des Ergebnisses der Wahlen zur Bildung einer Regierung in der Lage ist, an der die parlamentarische Mehrheit beteiligt ist. Im Allgemeinen wählt er bedeutende Persönlichkeiten, die Mitglieder der in der Abgeordnetenkammer vertretenen politischen Parteien sind. Nichts würde ihn jedoch daran hindern, bei Bedarf auf Fachleute ohne deutlich definierte politische Ausrichtung zurückzugreifen.

Die Minister müssen die luxemburgische Staatsangehörigkeit besitzen. Ihr Amt ist unvereinbar mit demjenigen eines Richters, eines Mitglieds des Rechnungshofs, eines Mitglieds des Staatsrats, eines Abgeordneten und eines Gemeinderats.

Die Amtszeit eines Ministers ist nicht festgelegt. Theoretisch kann der Großherzog seine Minister jederzeit absetzen; in der Praxis macht er stets unter Berücksichtigung der zeitgenössischen Demokratie jedoch von diesem Recht keinen Gebrauch.

Es ist ebenfalls üblich, dass die Regierung am Folgetag der Parlamentswahlen zurücktritt und der Großherzog die scheidende Regierung ersucht, die laufenden Geschäfte bis zur Vereidigung der nächsten aus den Wahlen hervorgehenden Regierung weiterzuführen.

Verfügt keine der in der Abgeordnetenkammer vertretenen politischen Parteien über die absolute Mehrheit, wird eine Regierungskoalition gebildet. Die politischen Parteien, die in der Regierung vertreten sein werden, einigen sich im Verlauf von manchmal mühsamen Verhandlungen auf ein gemeinsames Regierungsprogramm und die Aufteilung der Ressorts.

Der neue vom Großherzog ernannte Premierminister wird von Ersterem beauftragt, die Regierung zu bilden, deren Vorsitz zu übernehmen, die allgemeine Politik zu koordinieren und für die Koordination zwischen den Ressorts Sorge zu tragen.

Ministerverantwortlichkeit

Die Verfassung besagt im Allgemeinen, dass die Minister verantwortlich sind. Die Ministerverantwortlichkeit ist untrennbar mit der Nicht-Verantwortlichkeit des Großherzogs verbunden. Damit eine Handlung des Großherzogs wirksam werden kann, muss sie von einem Mitglied der Regierung gegengezeichnet werden, der dadurch die volle Verantwortung dafür übernimmt.

Vor der Abgeordnetenkammer sind die Minister für Handlungen verantwortlich, deren Urheber sie selbst entweder individuell oder kollektiv sind. Missbilligt das Parlament die Politik eines oder mehrerer Minister oder der gesamten Regierung, bringt sie ihren Dissens zum Ausdruck, indem sie entweder gegen einen bestimmten von der Regierung vorgeschlagenen Tagesordnungspunkt stimmt oder einen von den Ministern vorgeschlagenen Gesetzentwurf ablehnt. Wenn das Parlament sich weigert, den Jahreshaushalt zu verabschieden, macht es die Verwaltung der öffentlichen Angelegenheiten für die Regierung praktisch unmöglich.

Im schlimmsten Fall müssen die Minister als Rechtsfolge ihrer politischen Verantwortung von ihrem Amt zurücktreten, falls ihnen die Abgeordnetenkammer das Vertrauen entzieht (Misstrauensantrag). Es ist üblich, dass die Minister bei der ersten in der Abgeordnetenkammer verlorenen Abstimmung zurücktreten.

Laut der Verfassung ist allein das Parlament berechtigt, die Minister anzuklagen. Die zulässigen Anklagen gegen Minister aufgrund von Handlungen, die sie in Ausübung ihrer Funktionen begangen haben, werden vor den Obersten Gerichtshof, der im Plenum tagt, gebracht. Um zu verhindern, dass die strafrechtliche Haftung der Minister illusorisch werden kann, legt die Verfassung eines Ausnahme vom Begnadigungsrecht des Großherzogs fest, indem sie besagt, dass ein Minister, der verurteilt werden sollte, nur auf Ersuchen der Abgeordnetenkammer begnadigt werden kann.

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am