Conference on the Future of Europe

The Conference on the Future of Europe offers citizens across Europe the opportunity to express their views on what they want from the European Union and to give their opinions on future developments. It was officially launched on Europe Day, 9 May 2021.

This conference offers European citizens a new public space for an open, inclusive and transparent debate on Europe's priorities and challenges. All Europeans, stakeholders and civil society representatives are invited to express their expectations of the European Union. Contributions at European, national, regional and local level can feed the debate on the future of Europe.

Aware of the importance of the European debate with the citizens, the Luxembourg Government gives its full support to this initiative, which continue the citizens' consultations that took place before the 2019 European elections. 

Background

In a joint declaration signed on 10 March 2021, the Presidents of the European Commission, the European Parliament and the Council of the EU invite all Europeans to participate in the Conference on the Future of Europe and to express themselves:

  • on the direction they want the European Union to take;
  • on policies in all areas;
  • on their expectations of the Union.

How can you contribute?

To submit your contributions or to register your event, go to the digital and interactive platform of the Conference on the Future of Europe!

The digital platform is the central element of the Conference on the Future of Europe. It gives citizens the opportunity to express themselves, to let people know what kind of Europe they want to live in and to help shape its future. People from all walks of life are encouraged to contribute through the platform.

The platform also provides information on the structure and work of the conference. It is open to all Europeans, as well as to all EU institutions and bodies, national parliaments, national and local authorities, and civil society.

"The future is in your hands"

The platform is structured around several main topics:

  • Climate change and the environment;
  • Health;
  • A stronger economy, social justice and jobs;
  • EU in the world;
  • Values and rights, rule of law, security;
  • Digital transformation;
  • European democracy;
  • Migration;
  • Education, culture, youth and sport.

An "other ideas" field allows for the collection of other opinions and to complete these themes, as everyone is free to raise any issue of importance to them.

The key ideas and recommendations emerging from the platform will serve as input to the European citizens' panel discussions and the plenary sessions, where they will be debated to produce the conference conclusions. 

The Conference process

The Conference on the Future of Europe was officially launched on Europe Day, 9 May 2021.

In addition to the Conference plenary and the European citizens' panels building around four major thematic blocks, citizens can share their opinions via the multilingual digital platform. The platform also lists events taking place across Europe, both in-person and online.

All the relevant information concerning the organization of an event in the framework of the Conference on the Future of Europe can also be found on the platform.

Events

9 May 2021 - exchange in Schengen

On the occasion of Europe Day 2021, which also marked the start of the Conference on the Future of Europe, an exchange took place on the Place des Etoiles in front of the Schengen Museum between citizens, MEPs and European Commissioner Nicolas Schmit on the theme of the Conference on the Future of Europe. Citizens were invited to ask questions about the future of Europe and to make their voices heard.

21 June 2021 - trinational exchange with students

As part of the Conference on the Future of Europe, a tri-national discussion took place on 21 June 2021 at Institute Pierre Werner between the Minister of Foreign and European Affairs, Jean Asselborn, and the Minister Delegate for European Affairs of the Federal Republic of Germany, Michael Roth, in the presence of the French Ambassador Bruno Perdu, who represented the Secretary of State Clément Beaune. The Ministers exchanged views with German, French and Luxembourg high school students present in the room. The discussion can be viewed online here.

15 November 2021 - Europe in 2030: Hackathon for young entrepreneurs

As part of the Conference on the Future of Europe, an exchange around the Digital Compass and the EU industrial strategy took place in the presence of Prime Minister Xavier Bettel, the European Commissioner for the Internal Market Thierry Breton, the Minister of the Economy Franz Fayot, and the President of the Chamber of Commerce Luc Frieden. Students and young entrepreneurs discussed their vision of Europe in 2030. Additional information can be found here.

18 November 2021 – Solidarity in the EU Member States

At a meeting with students of the European School Luxembourg and from several universities, the Minister for Foreign and European Affairs, Jean Asselborn, and MEPs Katarina Barley and Isabelle Wiseler exchanged views with them on the topic of European Solidarity. Additional information can be found here.

Campaign of the Chamber of Deputies

The Chamber of Deputies launched a national campaign on 14 September 2021, which is based on different types of events. These events include:

  • Four thematic panels in the Chamber of Deputies (growing inequality, economic competitiveness of the European Union, managing migration flows, and climate change);
  • Discussions in cafés in the four constituencies (in Grevenmacher, Diekirch, Luxembourg and Esch-sur-Alzette);
  • The organization of an exchange of views between representatives from the Youth Parliament and the Chamber of Deputies on the future of Europe;
  • The "parliament at home", an initiative that calls on citizens to organize discussions at home and pass on their conclusions to the Chamber of Deputies.

These events are an opportunity to exchange views on issues of interest to citizens, as well as on topics that particularly concern them, with a strong emphasis on a "bottom-up” approach.

In addition, on 26 September 2021, citizens were able to meet Luxembourgish and European Members of Parliaments during a cross-border bicycle tour. This first meeting was an opportunity to exchange views with them on the societal and cross-border challenges of the European Union.

More information, as well as the calendar of the planned events can be found here.

 

Last update

Conférence sur l'avenir de l'Europe

Conférence sur l'avenir de l'Europe

La Conférence sur l'avenir de l'Europe offre aux citoyens dans toute l'Europe la possibilité de s'exprimer sur ce qu'ils attendent de l'Union européenne et de donner leur avis sur les prochaines évolutions. Son lancement officiel a eu lieu le 9 mai 2021, à l'occasion de la Journée de l'Europe.

Cette Conférence offre aux citoyens européens un nouvel espace public pour un débat ouvert, inclusif et transparent sur les priorités de l'Europe et les défis auxquels elle est confrontée. Tous les Européens, parties prenantes et représentants de la société civile sont invités à exprimer leurs attentes envers l'Union européenne. Des contributions au niveau européen, national, régional et local pourront nourrir le débat sur l'avenir de l'Europe.

Conscient de l'importance du débat européen avec les citoyens, le Gouvernement luxembourgeois apporte son plein soutien à cette initiative, dans la continuation des consultations citoyennes qui ont eu lieu en amont des élections européennes de 2019. 

Historique

Dans une déclaration commune signée le 10 mars 2021, les présidents de la Commission européenne, du Parlement européen et du Conseil de l'UE invitent les Européens à participer à la Conférence sur l'avenir de l'Europe et à s'exprimer:

  • sur les orientations qu'ils souhaitent donner à l'Union européenne;
  • sur les politiques menées dans tous les domaines;
  • sur leurs attentes envers l'Union.

Comment contribuer?

Pour déposer vos contributions ou pour enregistrer votre événement, rendez-vous sur la plateforme numérique et interactive de la Conférence sur l'avenir de l'Europe!

La plateforme numérique est l'élément central de la Conférence sur l'avenir de l'Europe. Elle offre la possibilité aux citoyens de s'exprimer, de faire savoir dans quelle Europe ils souhaitent vivre et de contribuer à façonner son avenir. Des personnes de tous les horizons sont encouragées à contribuer par l'intermédiaire de la plateforme.

La plateforme fournit également des informations sur la structure et les travaux de la conférence. Elle est ouverte à tous les Européens, ainsi qu'à l'ensemble des institutions et organes de l'UE, des parlements nationaux, des autorités nationales et locales et de la société civile.

"L'avenir est entre vos mains"

La plateforme s'articule autour de plusieurs grands thèmes:

  • le changement climatique et l'environnement;
  • la santé;
  • une économie plus forte et plus juste;
  • la justice sociale et l'emploi;
  • l'UE sur la scène internationale;
  • les valeurs et les droits,
  • l'état de droit, la sécurité;
  • la transformation numérique;
  • la démocratie européenne;
  • la migration;
  • l'éducation, la culture, la jeunesse et le sport.

Un champ "autres idées" permet de recueillir d'autres avis et de compléter ces thèmes car chacun est libre de soulever toute question importante à ses yeux.

Les idées et recommandations clés issues de la plateforme serviront de contribution aux discussions des panels de citoyens européens et aux sessions de l'assemblée plénière, où elles seront débattues pour produire les conclusions de la conférence. 

Déroulement de la Conférence

La Conférence sur l'avenir de l'Europe a été lancée officiellement pour la Journée de l'Europe, le 9 mai 2021.

Au-delà de l'Assemblée plénière de la Conférence et des panels de citoyens européens constitués autour de quatre grandes thématiques, les citoyens peuvent donner leur avis via la plateforme numérique multilingue. Cette dernière recense aussi les événements qui ont lieu à travers l'Europe, que ce soit en présentiel ou en ligne.

Toutes les informations utiles pour organiser un événement dans le cadre de la Conférence sur l'avenir de l'Europe se trouvent également sur la plateforme.

 

Évènements

9 mai 2021 -  échange à Schengen

À l'occasion de la Journée de l'Europe 2021, qui a également marqué le début de la Conférence sur l'avenir de l'Europe, un échange a eu lieu sur la place des Etoiles devant le Musée de Schengen entre citoyens, Députés européens et le Commissaire européen Nicolas Schmit sur le thème de la Conférence sur l'avenir de l'Europe. Les citoyens ont été invités à poser des questions sur l'avenir de l'Europe et à faire entendre leur voix.

21 juin 2021 – échange trinational avec des étudiants

Dans le cadre de la Conférence sur l'avenir de l'Europe, une discussion tri nationale  a eu le lundi 21 juin 2021 à l'Institut Pierre Werner, entre le ministre des Affaires étrangères et européennes, Jean Asselborn et le ministre délégué chargé des Affaires européennes de la République fédérale d'Allemagne, Michael Roth, en présence de l'Ambassadeur de France Bruno Perdu qui  a représenté le secrétaire d'État Clément Beaune. Les ministres se sont échangés avec des lycéens allemands, français et luxembourgeois présents dans la salle. La discussion peut être consultée en ligne ici.

15 novembre 2021 – L'Europe en 2030: Hackathon pour jeunes entrepreneurs

Dans le cadre de la Conférence sur l'avenir de l'Europe, un échange autour du Digital Compass et de la stratégie industrielle de l'UE a eu lieu en présence du Premier ministre, Xavier Bettel, du Commissaire européen en charge du marché intérieur, Thierry Breton, de Franz Fayot, Ministre de l'Economie, et de Luc Frieden, Président de la Chambre de Commerce. Des étudiants et jeunes entrepreneurs y ont discuté de leur vision de l'Europe en 2030. Plus d'informations ici.

18 novembre 2021 - Solidarité dans les États membres de l'UE

À l'occasion d'une rencontre avec les élèves de l'école européenne et des étudiants de plusieurs universités, le ministre des Affaires étrangères et européennes, Jean Asselborn, et les eurodéputées Katarina Barley et Isabelle Wiseler ont échangé avec eux sur le thème de la solidarité en Europe. Plus d'informations ici.

Campagne de la Chambre des Députés

La Chambre des Députés a lancé le 14 septembre 2021 une campagne nationale qui s'articule autour de différents types d'événements. Parmi ces évènements figurent:

  • Quatre panels thématiques à la Chambre des Députés (le creusement des inégalités, la compétitivité économique de l'Union européenne, la gestion des flux migratoires et le changement climatique);
  • Des discussions dans les cafés dans les quatre circonscriptions électorales (à Grevenmacher, Diekirch, Luxembourg et Esch-sur-Alzette);
  • L'organisation d'un échange de vues entre représentants du Parlement des Jeunes et de la Chambre des Députés sur l'avenir de l'Europe;
  • Les "parlements à la maison", un concept qui appelle les citoyens à organiser des discussions chez eux et de transmettre ensuite les conclusions à la Chambre des Députés.

Ces événements sont l'occasion de s'échanger sur des questions qui intéressent les citoyens et des thèmes qui les interpellent, en mettant l'accent sur une approche résolument "bottom up ".

De même, le 26 septembre 2021, les citoyens ont pu rencontrer les députés luxembourgeois et européens à l'occasion d'un tour transfrontalier à vélo. Ce premier rendez-vous fut l'occasion d'échanger avec eux notamment sur les défis sociétaux et transfrontaliers de l'Union européenne.

Plus d'informations ainsi que le calendrier des manifestations prévues peuvent être consultés en ligne ici

 

Dernière mise à jour