Head of State

The Grand Duke

Since 7 October 2000, His Royal Highness Grand Duke Henri has been the head of state of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.

He is the second child and eldest son of Grand Duke Jean and Grand Duchess Joséphine-Charlotte of Luxembourg, and was born at Betzdorf castle on 16 April 1955.

Article 33 of the Constitution provides that 'The Grand Duke is the head of state, symbol of its unity and guarantor of national independence. He exercises executive power in accordance with the Constitution and the country's laws.'

Both within and outside the borders of Luxembourg, the Grand Duke expresses the identity of the country. He symbolises its independence, the unity of the territory and the permanence of the state.

The Grand Duke participates in legislative power and exercises executive power through his government which is politically responsible before the Chamber of Deputies.

S.A.R. le Grand-Duc
H.R.H. the Grand Duke

Inviolability and freedom from responsibility

The Constitution places the head of state in a unique position outside common law

The Constitution provides that the person of the Grand Duke is inviolable, in other words he cannot be tried by any court and he cannot be asked to be held accountable for his actions. This inviolability implies complete unaccountability. This unaccountability is general and absolute from both a penal and political standpoint. The Grand Duke's inviolability and unaccountability ensure the stability of the monarchical institution and also ensure his impartiality with respect to the political world.

The Grand Duke’s political unaccountability has ministerial responsibility as its counterpart. Any measure adopted by the Grand Duke in the exercise of his constitutional powers must be countersigned by a member of the government, who assumes full responsibility for it.

The Grand Duke's executive remit

Article 34 of the Constitution provides that the Grand Duke enacts laws. Enactment is the act by which the Grand Duke attests to the content of the law and that the procedure for drafting the law was carried out in the proper fashion. This makes the law enforceable, in other words applicable. The law is published in the Official Journal of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.

The Grand Duke's regulatory power consists in taking the regulations and administrative orders required for the enforcement of laws and treaties. In some cases he may delegate this power to the members of his government.

Article 74 of the Constitution provides that the Grand Duke may dissolve the Chamber of Deputies. In this case, new legislative elections must take place within three months. In practice, dissolution only takes place at the proposal of the government. The Grand Duke either opens and closes the parliamentary sessions personally, or via his representative. He also convenes extraordinary sessions.

In principle, the text of the Constitution grants the Grand Duke the freedom to choose his ministers who are his trusted men and women and who exercise executive power with him. According to custom, the Grand Duke only chooses the Prime Minister, who takes care to compose a government which will win the support of the parliamentary majority.

Justice remit

Justice is delivered in the name of the Grand Duke, however he doesn't have the right to intervene in the exercise of judicial power.

International remit

The Grand Duke represents the country abroad, he makes treaties and he ensures that the interests of the state and of Luxembourgish nationals are safeguarded.

Power to appoint

The Grand Duke regulates the organisation of the government and the administrative services. He also appoints civil and military posts. He commands the armed forces.

Regalian rights

The Constitution reserves the prerogative of pardon for the Grand Duke, which means the right to reconsider or reduce the sentences handed down by judges, the right to mint coins in accordance with the law, the right to confer titles of nobility without being able to attach any privileges to these titles, as well as the right to confer honorary titles in civil and military orders.

Last update

Chef d'État

Le Grand-Duc

Depuis le 7 octobre 2000, Son Altesse Royale le Grand-Duc Henri est le chef d'État du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg.

Né le 16 avril 1955 au château de Betzdorf, il est le second enfant et le fils aîné du Grand-Duc Jean et de la Grande-Duchesse Joséphine-Charlotte.

L'article 33 de la Constitution dispose que "Le Grand-Duc est le chef de l'État, symbole de son unité et garant de l'indépendance nationale. Il exerce le pouvoir exécutif conformément à la Constitution et aux lois du pays."

À l'intérieur comme à l’extérieur des frontières luxembourgeoises, le Grand-Duc est l'expression de l'identité du pays. Il symbolise son indépendance, l'unité du territoire et la permanence de l'État.

Le Grand-Duc participe au pouvoir législatif et il exerce le pouvoir exécutif à travers son gouvernement qui est politiquement responsable devant la Chambre des députés.

S.A.R. le Grand-Duc
S.A.R. le Grand-Duc

Inviolabilité et irresponsabilité

La Constitution place le chef d'État dans une position unique en dehors du droit commun

En effet, la Constitution dispose que la personne du Grand-Duc est inviolable, c’est-à-dire qu'il n'est justiciable d'aucune juridiction et qu'on ne peut lui demander de rendre compte de ses actes. L'inviolabilité implique l'irresponsabilité complète du Grand-Duc. Cette irresponsabilité est générale et absolue, aussi bien du point de vue pénal que politique. L’inviolabilité et l’irresponsabilité du Grand-Duc assurent la stabilité de l’institution monarchique et assurent également son impartialité vis-à-vis du monde politique.

L'irresponsabilité politique du Grand-Duc a comme contrepartie la responsabilité ministérielle. Toute mesure prise par le Grand-Duc dans l'exercice de ses pouvoirs doit être contresignée par un membre du gouvernement qui en assume ainsi l'entière responsabilité.

Attributions du Grand-Duc en matière exécutive

L'article 34 de la Constitution dispose que le Grand-Duc promulgue les lois. La promulgation est l'acte par lequel le Grand-Duc atteste la teneur de la loi et en ordonne la publication et l'exécution.

Le pouvoir réglementaire du Grand-Duc consiste à prendre les règlements et arrêtés nécessaires pour l’exécution des lois. Il peut dans certaines conditions déléguer cette compétence aux membres de son gouvernement.

L’article 74 de la Constitution dispose que le Grand-Duc peut dissoudre la Chambre des députés. Dans ce cas, de nouvelles élections législatives doivent avoir lieu dans les trois mois. En pratique, la dissolution n’a lieu que sur proposition du gouvernement. Le Grand-Duc ouvre et clôt les sessions parlementaires par l’intermédiaire de son représentant. Il convoque également les sessions extraordinaires.

Le texte constitutionnel laisse en principe au Grand-Duc la liberté de choisir les ministres qui sont ses hommes de confiance et qui exercent avec lui le pouvoir exécutif. D’après des usages constants, le Grand-Duc ne choisit que le Premier ministre, qui prend soin de composer un gouvernement qui rencontrera l’adhésion de la majorité parlementaire.

Attributions en matière de justice

La justice est rendue au nom du Grand-Duc, sans qu’il ait toutefois un droit d’ingérence dans l’exercice du pouvoir judiciaire.

Attributions en matière internationale

Représentant le pays à l'étranger, le Grand-Duc fait les traités et veille à la sauvegarde des intérêts de l'État et des ressortissants luxembourgeois.

Pouvoir de nomination

Le Grand-Duc règle l’organisation du gouvernement ainsi que des services administratifs. Il nomme en outre aux emplois civils et militaires. Il commande la force armée.

Droits régaliens

La Constitution réserve au Grand-Duc le droit de grâce, c’est-à-dire le droit de remettre ou de réduire les peines prononcées par les juges, le droit de battre monnaie en exécution de la loi, le droit de conférer des titres de noblesse sans pouvoir y attacher aucun privilège, ainsi que le droit de conférer des titres honorifiques dans les ordres civils et militaires.

Dernière mise à jour