Government Council

The Government Council derives its constitutional legitimacy from the provisions of Chapter V of the Constitution. The organisation of the government, as provided for by Article 76 of the Constitution, is regulated in its current form by the royal grand-ducal decree of 9 July 1857 on the organisation of the grand-ducal government. This royal grand-ducal decree, since modified on several occasions, is still the legal basis for this matter today.

The Government Council meets on a weekly basis at the Ministry of State (Hôtel de Bourgogne), the seat of government, in order to deliberate all the matters on the agenda which is decided by the Prime Minister, President of the Government Council. All ministers may refer a matter regarding their department to the Government Council.

All matters submitted to the Grand Duke must be deliberated beforehand at the Government Council. Equally, the Government Council deliberates on government bills that are submitted to the Chamber of Deputies.

The amended royal grand-ducal decree of 9 July 1957 provides that decisions of the Government Council are adopted by a majority vote. In the event of a split vote, the vote cast by the President, the Prime Minister, is the overriding vote. However, in Luxembourg's political tradition, the decisions of the Government Council are taken by consensus, so resorting to a vote is the exception.

Any measure taken in the Government Council is the responsibility of all members of the government who contributed to this measure. However, ministers who cast a dissenting vote as recorded in the minutes of the meeting of the Government Council are exempt from responsibility.

The Government Council is assisted by the Secretary General of the Government Council, a department overseen by the Prime Minister. The Secretary General of the Government Council, as well as the Deputy Secretary General are chosen by the government among the senior officials. They may be withdrawn at any time and their role comes to an end at the end of the government's mandate.

The Secretary General of the Government Council prepares the meetings of the Government Council, takes part in them, drafts the minutes of the meetings and ensures that the decisions taken by the Council are implemented. He/she may also be given other duties by the Government Council.

Last update

Regierungsrat

Der Regierungsrat erhält seine verfassungsrechtliche Legitimität aufgrund der Bestimmungen von Kapitel V der Verfassung. Die Bildung der Regierung im Sinne von Artikel 76 der Verfassung wird in ihrer derzeitigen Form durch den königlich-großherzoglichen Beschluss vom 9. Juli 1857 „über die Bildung der Staatsregierung des Großherzogtums“ geregelt. Dieser königlich-großherzogliche Beschluss, der seitdem mehrfach geändert wurde, stellt noch heute die diesbezügliche Rechtsgrundlage dar.

Der Regierungsrat tritt wöchentlich im Staatsministerium (Hôtel de Bourgogne), dem Sitz der Regierung, zusammen, um über alle Angelegenheiten zu beraten, die in der vom Premierminister, dem Vorsitzenden des Regierungsrats, gebilligten Tagesordnung aufgeführt sind. Alle Minister können den Regierungsrat mit einer ihr Ressort betreffenden Angelegenheit befassen.

Über alle Angelegenheiten, die vor den Großherzog gebracht werden, muss im Vorfeld im Regierungsrat beraten werden. Der Regierungsrat berät ebenfalls über Gesetzentwürfe, die in der Abgeordnetenkammer hinterlegt werden.

Der königlich-großherzogliche Beschluss vom 9. Juli 1857 sieht vor, dass die von der Regierung im Regierungsrat getroffenen Entscheidungen per Mehrheitsabstimmung getroffen werden. Bei Stimmengleichheit gibt die Stimme des Vorsitzenden, also des Premierministers, den Ausschlag. In der luxemburgischen politischen Tradition werden die Beschlüsse des Regierungsrats jedoch einvernehmlich gefasst, sodass eine Abstimmung nur in Ausnahmefällen stattfindet.

Die Verantwortung für jede im Regierungsrat getroffene Maßnahme obliegt allen Mitgliedern der Regierung, die an dieser Maßnahme mitgewirkt haben. Der Minister, der im Protokoll der Sitzung des Regierungsrats seine Gegenstimme hat feststellen lassen, wird jedoch von seiner Verantwortung entbunden.

Der Regierungsrat wird vom allgemeinen Sekretariat des Regierungsrats, einer dem Premierminister unterstehenden Dienststelle, unterstützt. Der Generalsekretär des Regierungsrats sowie der stellvertretende Generalsekretär werden von der Regierung unter den Beamten im höheren Dienst ausgewählt. Sie können jederzeit abberufen werden, und ihre Amtszeit endet mit dem Ende des Regierungsmandats.

Der Generalsekretär des Regierungsrats bereitet die Sitzungen des Regierungsrats vor, nimmt an diesen Teil, erstellt das Protokoll der Sitzungen und trägt für die Durchführung der vom Rat gefassten Beschlüsse Sorge. Ihm können vom Regierungsrat zudem weitere Aufgaben übertragen werden.

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am