Professional chambers

There are five professional chambers in Luxembourg:

  • Chamber of Employees (formed by a merger between the Chambre des employés privés and the Chambre du travail on 1 January 2009),
  • Chamber of Civil Servants and Public Employees,
  • Chamber of Agriculture,
  • Chamber of Commerce,
  • Chamber of Trades.

The professional chambers are created by the legislator, as they are not provided for in the Constitution. Their main task is to safeguard and defend the interests of the professional groups they represent, by making their opinions known to the public authorities.

The government must seek the advice of the professional chambers whenever new laws or grand ducal regulations are being prepared, which concern one or more sectors which these chambers represent. This situation is specific to Luxembourg.

Professional chambers have the right to submit proposals to the government on matters for which they are competent. After examining these proposals, the government can forward them to Parliament.

Any person who practices a profession falling within the competence of one of the professional chambers is inevitably affiliated to this chamber. The composition of the professional chambers is determined by elections within each socio-professional group represented. Each member, whether a Luxembourger or foreign national, may exercise an active and passive right to vote. A professional chamber is a self-governing body.

Last update

Chambres professionnelles

Au Luxembourg, il existe 5 chambres professionnelles:

·         Chambre des salariés (qui résulte d'une fusion de la Chambre des employés privés et de la Chambre du travail, le 1er janvier 2009),

·         Chambre des fonctionnaires et employés publics,

·         Chambre d'agriculture,

·         Chambre de commerce,

·         Chambre des métiers.

Elles sont créées par le législateur, sans être prévues par la Constitution. Leur mission essentielle est la sauvegarde et la défense des intérêts des groupes professionnels qu'elles représentent en faisant entendre leur avis vis-à-vis des pouvoirs publics.

Le gouvernement doit demander l'avis des chambres professionnelles chaque fois qu'il est envisagé de prendre des lois ou des règlements grand-ducaux concernant principalement le secteur professionnel dont elles ont à défendre les intérêts. Ceci constitue une particularité luxembourgeoise.

Les chambres professionnelles ont le droit de faire des propositions au gouvernement pour les objets qui rentrent dans leur champ de compétence. Après les avoir examinées, le gouvernement peut les transmettre à la Chambre des députés.

Toute personne qui exerce une profession tombant sous les compétences d'une des chambres professionnelles est obligatoirement affiliée à cette chambre. La composition des chambres professionnelles est déterminée par des élections à l'intérieur de chaque groupe socioprofessionnel représenté. Chaque membre, qu'il soit luxembourgeois ou étranger, peut exercer un droit de vote actif et passif. Le principe de fonctionnement d'une chambre professionnelle est celui de l'autogestion.

Dernière mise à jour