Fiscal transparency

Introduction

© Thinkstock/Getty Images/iStockphoto, all rights reserved

 

At the European Council in June 2000, the member states reach agreement that the European Union should work towards full implementation of the exchange of information between tax authorities. The 2008 economic and financial crisis hastens the move towards fiscal transparency. This dossier presents Luxembourg's efforts in order to bring its entire body of tax agreements in line with the international standard.

2000-2010

Progress in fiscal transparency at EU level can be traced back to the Santa Maria da Feira European Council (under the Portuguese Presidency), which took place on 19 and 20 June 2000. At this European Council, the member states reached agreement that the European Union should work towards full implementation of the exchange of information between tax authorities, and that this exchange of information should be automatic.

On this basis of this agreement, Council Directive 2003/48/EC of 3 June 2003, known as the 'Savings Directive', was adopted. Elle prévoit un échange automatique d'informations sur les revenus de l’épargne sous forme d’intérêts. Twelve of the then fifteen member states implemented this system for the automatic exchange of savings information, while Luxembourg, Austria and Belgium applied a transitional system involving a withholding tax.

The 2008 economic and financial crisis hastened the move towards fiscal transparency, and efforts were stepped up to combat tax evasion by giving it an international dimension. In March 2009, Luxembourg announced that it would align itself with the standard for the exchange of information on request as laid down in the OECD model agreement. The government then embarked on negotiations with around ten partner countries with the aim of concluding and amending agreements to avoid double taxation, which were approved by the Law of 31 March 2010. Since then, Luxembourg has brought its entire body of tax agreements in line with the international standard.

2011-2013

At European level, provisions for administrative cooperation on tax matters were laid down in a new directive, Council Directive 2011/16/EU of 15 February 2011 on administrative cooperation in the field of taxation, which provided for the exchange of information on request, automatic exchange and spontaneous exchange between member states' tax authorities from 1 January 2013.

Moreover, in May 2013, Luxembourg signed the joint 1988 Council of Europe and OECD Convention on Mutual Administrative Assistance in Tax Matters and its Protocol (ratified by the Law of 26 May 2014) to facilitate international administrative cooperation in the area of taxation. 

That same year, Luxembourg became involved in the work on the OECD Action Plan, commissioned by the G20, for the development of measures to curb base erosion and profit shifting (BEPS). The plan was adopted by the G20 leaders in September 2013.

2014

In late March 2014, Luxembourg and the United States signed the intergovernmental agreement known as 'FATCA' (Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act), which provides for the automatic exchange of information between the Luxembourg and US tax authorities. The agreement was transposed into national legislation by the Law of 24 July 2015. This transition to the automatic exchange of information between tax administrations provided crucial impetus at international level and paved the way for a worldwide initiative.

With the support of the G20, the OECD developed a single global standard known as the CRS (Common Reporting Standard), which provides for the automatic exchange of financial account information and is largely inspired by FATCA (the US tax law). The CRS was approved by the OECD Council on 15 July 2014 and endorsed by the Finance Ministers at the G20 Summit on 20 and 21 September 2014 in Cairns.

On 28 and 29 October 2014, Luxembourg signed a multilateral agreement in Berlin between competent authorities on the implementation of the new global standard and agreed to apply automatic information exchange from 2017 onward.

At the same time, the European Union adopted Council Directive 2014/107/EU of 9 December 2014 amending Directive 2011/16/EU as regards mandatory automatic exchange of information in the field of taxation, which introduced the automatic exchange of financial account information between Member States.

The Luxembourg Government, together with the other member states, is therefore firmly committed to the adoption of the OECD's rules on the automatic exchange of information as a new global standard; it transposed Directive 2014/107/EU into national legislation with the Law of 18 December 2015. Via these initiatives, Luxembourg, along with around fifty other OECD countries applying the exchange of information as laid down in the CRS, is an 'early adopter'.

With regard to the exchange of information on request, the Global Forum recognised all the measures introduced by the Luxembourg Government, especially the adoption in July 2014 of the Law on the immobilisation of bearer shares and units and the Law of 25 November 2014 laying down the procedure applicable to the exchange of information on request in tax matters, and raised the country's rating on transparency and exchange of information for tax purposes to 'largely compliant'.

Since 2015

The Luxembourg Presidency of the Council of the European Union in 2015 made fighting fraud and tax evasion one of the priorities of its work programme. Transparency and the establishment of a level playing field on a global scale are vital if these efforts are to prove effective.

During the Luxembourg Presidency of the Council of the European Union, a unanimous agreement was reached by the member states on 6 October 2015 to strengthen cooperation between them with respect to taxation and to discourage the abusive use of advance tax rulings. This led to the adoption of Council Directive (EU) 2015/2376 of 8 December 2015 amending Directive 2011/16/EU as regards mandatory automatic exchange of information in the field of taxation, which was transposed into national legislation by the Law of 23 July 2016 concerning the automatic exchange of information with respect to tax rulings and advance pricing agreements.

On 27 January 2016, Luxembourg Finance Minister Pierre Gramegna signed the Multilateral Competent Authority Agreement on the Exchange of Country-by-Country Reports, a key additional step towards transparency in tax matters at global level. Country-by-country reporting is a real step forward in strengthening cooperation and information exchange, this time in the area of transfer pricing documentation for multinational enterprises. This reporting, via Action 13 of the OECD's BEPS project, was introduced by Council Directive (EU) 2016/881 of 25 May 2016 amending Directive 2011/16/EU as regards mandatory automatic exchange of information in the field of taxation, transposed by the Law of 23 December 2016.

Chronology of news items on gouvernement.lu (in French)

Directives

Legislation

Last update

Transparence fiscale

Introduction

© Thinkstock/Getty Images/iStockphoto, tous droits réservés

 

Lors du Conseil européen en juin 2000, les États membres aboutissent au consensus que l’échange de renseignements entre les administrations fiscales doit être l’objectif ultime de l’UE. La crise financière de 2008 renforce le mouvement en faveur de la transparence fiscale. Ce dossier présente les efforts du Luxembourg pour aligner son réseau de conventions fiscales sur le standard international.

2000-2010

Les avancées européennes en matière de transparence fiscale trouvent leur origine à l’occasion du Conseil européen de Santa Maria da Feira (sous présidence portugaise) qui s’est déroulé les 19 et 20 juin 2000. Au terme de ce Conseil, les États membres aboutissent au consensus que l’échange de renseignements entre les administrations fiscales doit être l’objectif ultime de l’Union européenne et que cet échange doit se faire de manière automatique.

S’appuyant sur cet accord, la Directive 2003/48/CE du Conseil du 3 juin 2003, dite "Directive de l’épargne", voit le jour. Elle prévoit un échange automatique des revenus de l’épargne sous forme d’intérêts. Douze des quinze États membres de l’époque mettent en place l’échange automatique de ces revenus, alors que le Luxembourg, l’Autriche et la Belgique appliquent un régime transitoire de retenue à la source.

La crise économique et financière de 2008 renforce et accélère le mouvement en faveur de la transparence fiscale et de la lutte contre l’évasion fiscale en lui donnant une dimension internationale. En mars 2009, le Luxembourg annonce son engagement de se rallier au standard d’échange de renseignements sur demande selon le modèle de convention de l’OCDE. Dans la foulée, le gouvernement entame des négociations avec une dizaine de partenaires pour aboutir à la conclusion et l’amendement d’accords de non-double imposition qui sont approuvés par la loi du 31 mars 2010. Depuis, le Luxembourg a aligné l’ensemble de son réseau de conventions fiscales sur le standard international.

2011-2013

Au niveau européen, la coopération administrative en matière fiscale est encadrée par une nouvelle directive, la Directive 2011/16/UE du Conseil du 15 février 2011 relative à la coopération administrative dans le domaine fiscal, qui prévoit l’échange d’informations sur demande, automatique et spontané entre les autorités fiscales des États membres de l’UE à partir du 1er janvier 2013.

De plus, en mai 2013 le Luxembourg a procédé à la signature de la Convention conjointe de l’OCDE et du Conseil de l’Europe de 1988 concernant l'assistance administrative mutuelle en matière fiscale et de son Protocole (ratifiée par la loi du 26 mai 2014) en vue de faciliter la coopération administrative internationale en matière de fiscalité.

La même année, le Grand-Duché rejoint les travaux sur le plan d’action de l’OCDE, mandaté par le G20, portant sur l’élaboration de mesures visant à endiguer l’érosion de la base d’imposition et le transfert de bénéfices dites "BEPS" (Base Erosion and Profit Shifting). Ce plan est adopté par les dirigeants du G20 en septembre de la même année.

2014

Fin mars 2014, le Luxembourg et les États-Unis signent l’accord intergouvernemental dit "FATCA" (Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act) qui comporte l’échange automatique de renseignements entre les administrations fiscales luxembourgeoise et américaine. L’accord a été transposé en droit national par la loi du 24 juillet 2015. Ce passage à l’échange automatique d’informations entre administrations fiscales donne une impulsion décisive au niveau international et ouvre la voie à une initiative internationale.

C’est avec l’appui du G20 que l’OCDE a élaboré une norme mondiale unique dite "CRS" (Common Reporting Standard) qui prévoit l’échange automatique de renseignements relatifs aux comptes financiers et qui est largement inspirée de la loi fiscale américaine - FATCA. Les travaux ont été achevés et la norme mondiale a été approuvée par le Conseil de l’OCDE le 15 juillet 2014 et endossée par les ministres des Finances lors du sommet du G20 les 20 et 21 septembre 2014 à Cairns.

Les 28 et 29 octobre 2014, le Luxembourg a signé à Berlin un accord multilatéral entre autorités compétentes sur la mise en œuvre de la nouvelle norme mondiale et s’est engagé à appliquer l’échange automatique à partir de l’année 2017.

Parallèlement, l’Union européenne a adopté la directive 2014/107/UE (Directive 2014/107/UE du Conseil du 9 décembre 2014 modifiant la directive 2011/16/UE en ce qui concerne l'échange automatique et obligatoire d’informations dans le domaine fiscal) instaurant l’échange automatique de renseignements relatifs à des comptes financiers entre les États membres.

Ainsi, le gouvernement luxembourgeois ensemble avec d’autres États membres s'engage fermement en faveur de l'adoption des règles de l'OCDE sur l'échange automatique de renseignements comme nouveau standard global en transposant la directive 2014/107/UE en droit national par la loi du 18 décembre 2015. Le Grand-Duché à travers de ces initiatives et ensemble avec une cinquantaine d’autres pays de l’OCDE qui appliquent l’échange selon le CRS figure parmi les "early adopters".

Dans le contexte de l’échange de renseignements sur demande, le Forum mondial reconnaissant toutes les mesures introduites par le gouvernement luxembourgeois, dont notamment l’adoption en juillet 2014 de la loi relative à l'immobilisation des actions et parts au porteur ainsi que de la loi du 25 novembre 2014 prévoyant la procédure applicable à l’échange de renseignements sur demande en matière fiscale, relève la note du Grand-Duché sur la transparence et l’échange de renseignements à des fins fiscales au niveau conforme pour l’essentiel ("largely compliant").

Depuis 2015

La Présidence luxembourgeoise du Conseil de l’Union européenne en 2015 fait de la lutte contre la fraude et l’évasion fiscale une des priorités de son programme de travail. La transparence et la mise en place de règles du jeu équitables ("level playing field") au niveau mondial sont des conditions nécessaires à l’efficacité de cette lutte.

Lors de la Présidence luxembourgeoise du Conseil de l’Union européenne, un accord unanime des États membres a été trouvé le 6 octobre 2015 afin de renforcer la coopération entre les États membres dans le domaine fiscal et décourager l'utilisation des décisions fiscales anticipées, "rulings", à des fins abusives. Ceci s’est traduit par l’adoption de la Directive (UE) 2015/2376 du Conseil du 8 décembre 2015 modifiant la directive 2011/16/UE relative à l’échange automatique et obligatoire d’informations dans le domaine fiscal et transposée en droit national par la loi du 23 juillet 2016, permettant un échange automatique des tax rulings ainsi que les accords concernant les prix de transfert ("advance pricing agreements").

Le 27 janvier 2016, le ministre des Finances, Pierre Gramegna, signe l’Accord multilatéral entre autorités compétentes portant sur l’échange des déclarations pays par pays, une étape clé supplémentaire en faveur de la transparence fiscale à l’échelle mondiale. La déclaration pays par pays constitue un pas en avant renforçant la coopération et l’échange de renseignements, cette fois-ci en matière de documentation des prix de transfert des entreprises multinationales. Cette dernière, à travers l’Action 13 du projet BEPS de l’OCDE a été introduite par la Directive européenne (UE) 2016/881 du Conseil du 25 mai 2016 modifiant la directive 2011/16/UE en ce qui concerne l’échange automatique et obligatoire d’informations dans le domaine fiscal transposée par la loi du 23 décembre 2016.

Chronologie des actualités sur gouvernement.lu

Directives

Législation

Dernière mise à jour